The item has been added to your personal Favourites collection

throbbing gristle

D.o.A. The Third And Final Report
€ 12.00
View your shopping activity

Wishlist 0

Cart 0

throbbing gristle - D.o.A. The Third And Final Report

throbbing gristle

D.o.A. The Third And Final Report

€ 12.00

LABEL: The Grey Area
GENRE: Electronic | FORMAT: CD | CATALOG N. TG CD 3 | YEAR. (1991)

Out of stock

1991 CD reissue of the 2nd TG album, originally issued in 1978; digitally remastered by Chris Carter. Adds 2 bonus tracks from the legendary Sordide Sentimental 7" ("We Hate You (Little Girls)" & "Five Knuckle Shuffle". Breaking from the live sound of the previous Second Annual Report, D.O.A. finds the group assembling collages of computer noise, cassette tapes on fast forward, looped feedback and tape hiss, surreptitiously recorded conversation, threatening phone calls, and much more, all to a grand alienating effect, the sound of a gray day in a British tower block after all the drugs have run out.

Notes   Tracklisting
"A few words about this record: for various reasons we have decided to include a solo track by each of the four individual group members. We think you may find this illuminating [...] Explanatory details about individual tracks are as follows: "Side One: "I.B.M. was inspired by a found cassette sent to us by Mark Eyles. "Hit by a Rock" was recorded at Highbury Roadhouse, London in September 1977. "Valley of the Shadow of Death" was recorded and arranged by Peter Christopherson. "Dead on Arrival" was recorded live at A.T.C., Goldsmiths College, London in May 1978. "Weeping" uses four types of acoustic violin through a space-echo played and arranged by Genesis P-Orridge, the lyrics are co-written by Genesis P-Orridge and Ewa Zajac. "Side Two: "Hamburger Lady" was inpired by a section of a letter from Dr. Al Ackerman of Portland, Oregon, U.S.A. reproduced elsewhere on this sleeve. "Hometime" was played, recorded and arranged by Cosey Fanni Tutti. "Death Threats" was taken unaltered off our telephone answering machine. "Walls of Sound" was recorded live at five locations during the last year. "Blood on the Floor" was recorded live at Highbury Roundhouse, London in September 1977. "The remaining material was gathered on location or recorded at the studios of Industrial Records, to whom, as ever, our thanks are due." Tracks 14/15 from the single We Hate You (Little Girls) / Five Knuckle Shuffle.
1 Throbbing Gristle I.B.M. (2:35)
2 Throbbing Gristle Hit By A Rock (2:32)
3 Throbbing Gristle United (0:16)
4 Peter Christopherson Valley Of The Shadow Of Death (4:01)
5 Throbbing Gristle Dead On Arrival (6:10)
6 Genesis P-Orridge* Weeping (5:31)
7 Throbbing Gristle Hamburger Lady (4:15)
8 Cosey Fanni Tutti Hometime (3:46)
9 Chris Carter (2) AB/7A (4:31)
10 Throbbing Gristle E-Coli (4:17)
11 Unknown Artist Death Threats (0:41)
12 Throbbing Gristle Walls Of Sound (2:49)
13 Throbbing Gristle Blood On The Floor (1:06)
14 Throbbing Gristle Five Knuckle Shuffle (6:43)
15 Throbbing Gristle We Hate You (Little Girls) (2:08)