The item has been added to your personal Favourites collection

david borden - james ferraro - sam godin - laurel halo - daniel lopatin

FRKYS Vol. 7 (LP)
€ 19.90
View your shopping activity

Wishlist 0

Cart 0

david borden - james ferraro - sam godin - laurel halo - daniel lopatin - FRKYS Vol. 7 (LP)

david borden - james ferraro - sam godin - laurel halo - daniel lopatin

FRKYS Vol. 7 (LP)

€ 19.90

LABEL: Rvng Intl.
GENRE: Experimental | FORMAT: LP | CATALOG N. FRKWYS07LP | YEAR. (2011)

In Stock

The full-length player of FRKWYS Vol. 7 features pieces improvised in various forms by David Borden, James Ferraro, Samuel Godin, Laurel Halo, and Daniel Lopatin.
When Lopatin (Oneohtrix Point Never, Ford & Lopatin) and RVNG Intl. began discussing this FRKWYS collaboration, Borden's work in Mother Mallard's Portable Masterpiece Co. and his seminal Music For Amplified Keyboard Instruments album were mutually / ecstatically acknowledged. While rooted in academia, Borden's minimalist compositions deal in natural themes, evoking expansive environments.

The idea to grow the project to include additional collaborators was inspired both by Borden's accomplishments in ensemble improvisation and by a basic desire for collective energy and levity. Atlantic Sound Studio in DUMBO, Brooklyn became the meeting destination for Lopatin and Borden, alongside musicians Halo, Godin, and Ferraro.

Over two days in August 2010, the ensemble played infinitely. During tour breaks the following fall and winter, the endless hours of recordings were paired down to the selections of FRKWYS Vol. 7. The music of the album represents full session takes, edited only for time. The cosmically dense but dynamic nature of the recording reveals the diverse ingredients seasoning the spatial stew. "People of Wind" Parts 1 and 2 were amongst first takes from the two-day session. The pieces exhibit the ensemble in early harmony, allowing each other textural counterpoint play while avoiding rigidity. "Internet Gospel" Parts 1 and 2 demonstrate the players at ease and taking turns at solo accompaniments, ending in a Fourth World freak out. "Twilight Pacific" and "Just a Little Pollution" are compiled from middle points of the session - structured statements in solidarity.

The limited edition LP version of FRKWYS Vol. 7 is packaged in thick black jackets with a two-color adhesive wrap. 50 subscriber LPs come in leatherette jackets. The CD resembles a miniature version of the LP. Both LP and CD will be available July 17th, and digital download will be available July 30th at and through the usual storefront suspects.

Notes   Tracklisting
There are no notes associated with this item
There are no tracklisting associated with this item