The item has been added to your personal Favourites collection

erkki kurenniemi

€ 28.00
View your shopping activity

Wishlist 0

Cart 0

erkki kurenniemi - Rules

erkki kurenniemi


€ 28.00

GENRE: Electronic | FORMAT: Vinyl LPx2 | CATALOG N. KRYPT-022 | YEAR. (2014)

Out of stock

2012 Reissue. Ektro Records proudly presents the pioneer of Finnish electronic and experimental music - Mr. Erkki Kurenniemi. The tracks released here - produced during 1963-1975 - include Kurenniemi's focal works and previously unreleased raw material composed as solo works - as well as works in collaboration with Kari Hakala, Jukka Ruohomäki, Otto Donner and Eino Ruutsalo. Kurenniemi's impulsive attitude towards his art - including electronic music, films, media art, instrument design - is perfectly captured in his composition rules presented as a guide line of the release:


  1. A work has to be completed in a single day.
  2. Consecutive sounds must be chosen so that they are totally inconsistent or surprising and have no rational relationship with each other.
  3. ...?

Carefully chosen masterpieces are newly digitized from the original master tapes with highest possible sample rate and resolution (192kHz, 24bit) to preserve a pristine listening experience. Kurenniemi's works are now heard first time as genuine as possible for no artificial

Notes   Tracklisting

All tracks were recorded between 1963 and 1975.

Side A

  1. Saharan uni I (with Kari Hakala, stereo, 1967, 7:10)
  2. Virsi (stereo, 1970, 10:47)

Side B

  1. On-Off (mono, 1963, 12:44)
  2. Preludi (mono, 1970, 6:33)

Side C

  1. Inventio-Outventio (Outventio with Jukka Ruohomäki, stereo, 1970, 3:51)
  2. Dimi-1 (stereo, 1970, 3:08)
  3. ?Death 3 (stereo, 1975, 11:15

Side D

  1. Antropoidien tanssi (mono, 1968, 4:37)
  2. Music for the film Hyppy (mono, 1964, 6:38)
  3. Saharan uni II (with Kari Hakala, stereo, 1967, 6:35)