The item has been added to your personal Favourites collection

stuff combe

Stuff Combe 5 + Percussion (Lp)
€ 25.90
View your shopping activity

Wishlist 0

Cart 0

stuff combe - Stuff Combe 5 + Percussion (Lp)

stuff combe

Stuff Combe 5 + Percussion (Lp)

€ 25.90

LABEL: We Release Jazz

Out of stock

We Release Jazz presents its fourth release, the first ever official reissue of 1974's Stuff Combe 5 + Percussion, a hard-to-find soul jazz jewel from a cast of illustrious jazzmen led by glorious Swiss drummer, Stuff Combe. The release follows reissues Ryo Fukui's Scenery and Mellow Dream, and Le Cercle Rouge's soundtrack by Eric Demarsan . Recorded in Geneva, Stuff Combe 5 + Percussion finds Stuff Combe conducting an all-star ensemble consisting of Bob Jacquillard on bass, Francy Boland (The Chet Baker Quintet, arranger for Count Basie, Benny Goodman, the list goes on...) on piano and electric piano, bebop and hard-bop legend Benny Bailey on trumpet, and Tony D'Adario on saxophone. The sessions ooze with funk, spaced-out sounds, breathtaking solos, and moments of absolute collective wizardry. It's soul jazz at its best with sci-fi and bossa excursions.

Born in Bern in 1924, Etienne Stephen Jean Gustave "Stuff" Combe had a wonderfully prolific career, playing all over Europe and the US and working with Buck Clayton, Bill Coleman, Stan Getz, Kenny Clarke, Oscar Pettiford, Art Taylor, Dizzy Reece, and Lucky Thompson, just to name a few. He passed away in 1986, leaving behind a legacy that cemented him as one of the most important musicians in the history of Swiss jazz. Includes liner notes by Alain Morisod.

Notes   Tracklisting
There are no notes associated with this item
There are no tracklisting associated with this item