The item has been added to your personal Favourites collection

yoshimi ueno

Taiko No Uminari (Lp)
€ 24.90
View your shopping activity

Wishlist 0

Cart 0

yoshimi ueno - Taiko No Uminari (Lp)

yoshimi ueno

Taiko No Uminari (Lp)

€ 24.90

LABEL: Studio Mule
GENRE: Jazz | FORMAT: LP | CATALOG N. Studio Mule 14 LP | YEAR. (2019)

In Stock

Studio Mule presents Yoshimi Ueno's Taiko No Uminari, originally issued in 1980 on Johnny's Disk Record. Johnny's Disk Record is an independent jazz label run by the owner of jazz cafe Kaiunbashi No Johnny, located in Rikuzentakata City in Iwate Prefecture, Japan. The legendary label released a string of albums of high quality but down-to-earth music, spanning from modern and avant-garde jazz to left-field pop. Albums such as Teru Sakamoto's Farewell My Johnny / Left Alone and Eiji Nakayama's Aya's Samba have reached cult status among fans as some of the best works to come out of the Japanese jazz scene. Taiko No Uminari is the only solo record drummer Yoshimi Ueno released before passing. The album features "Sea Sound", a hard bop number with soulful melodies and impressive saxophone playing by Yasuaki Shimizu, the folky and melancholic "Tsuchi Ningyo", composed by labelmate Nakayama, the romantic ballad "My Spirit" by pianist Keisaku Takahashi, poly-rhythmic jam "Skip" written by Ueno himself, "K.Blues", a bluesy tune with a bit of a New Orleans jazz vibe, and "Uzushio," a duet between Nakayama's bass and Ueno's drums. Edition of 500.

Notes   Tracklisting
There are no notes associated with this item
There are no tracklisting associated with this item