The item has been added to your personal Favourites collection

albert ayler

The Hilversum Sessions
€ 21.00
View your shopping activity

Wishlist 0

Cart 0

albert ayler - The Hilversum Sessions
File under:


albert ayler

The Hilversum Sessions

€ 21.00

LABEL: Modern Silence
GENRE: Jazz | FORMAT: LP | CATALOG N. OI-021 LP | YEAR. (2017)

Out of stock

Modern Silence present a reissue of Albert Ayler's The Hilversum Sessions, originally released in 1980. "Recorded in the Dutch city of Hilversum, The Hilversum Sessions presents Albert Ayler in all his blowzy, testifying glory, fronting a quartet that includes trumpeter Don Cherry, bassist Gary Peacock, and drummer Sunny Murray. The repertoire includes five Ayler originals, notably his signature tunes 'Angels,' 'Ghosts,' and 'Spirits.' It's easy to forget how starkly original Ayler was, given the untold number of contemporary free saxophonists who've built entire concepts around his sax style. This album is a welcome reminder. Imitators adopt surface characteristics of Ayler's music - manifested mostly in the use of certain 'extended' techniques - but very few capture the subtlety of which he was capable: the contrasts of dynamics, articulation, vibrato, register and phrasing; the sense of drama as a solo unfolds. Obviously, he's in collegial company here. However misused his example has been by lesser musicians, this music retains an everlasting power" --Chris Kelsey, JazzTimes. 180 gram vinyl; numbered edition of 500 copies.

Notes   Tracklisting
There are no notes associated with this item
There are no tracklisting associated with this item