The item has been added to your personal Favourites collection

giacinto scelsi

The Viola Works - volume 9
€ 16.00
View your shopping activity

Wishlist 0

Cart 0

giacinto scelsi - The Viola Works - volume 9

giacinto scelsi

The Viola Works - volume 9

€ 16.00

GENRE: Compositional Form | FORMAT: CD | CATALOG N. mode 231 | YEAR. (2011)

Out of stock

Volume 9 of Mode’s Scelsi Edition is devoted to the first complete recording of Giacinto Scelsi’s works for viola solo and duo.

• Manto was a prophet in ancient Greece. Scelsi translated her oracle maxims into cryptic phonemes which the viola player has to sing simultaneously in the third movement. In Manto, the sound of the viola is expanded and explored via experimental playing techniques. This is the first recording of the third movement.

• In Xnoybis, Scelsi’s exploration “into the inside of the sound” is taken to its extreme. A central tone, variously colored and surrounded, moves in microtonal steps — no melody in the traditional sense, but a sole wandering sound. This is the first recording of the viola version in a transcription by Vincent Royer.

Elegia per Ty for viola and violoncello is Scelsi’s tender rememberance of his former wife Dorothy (nicknamed “Ty”). It is among his most important chamber works.

Coelocanth and the Three Studies belong to Scelsi’s earlier style of composing. Concise motivic gestures are developed by improvisation. These expressive, virtuoso pieces are overwhelming in their ecstatic ferocity. This is the first recording of the “Three Studies”.

• Violist Vincent Royer is one of the most outstanding performers of contemporary music today. Mr. Royer, who was born in France but now lives in Cologne, Germany, is among a handful of musicians who have truly mastered the works of the Spectral composers, such as Gerard Grisey. In his hands, these challenging and complex works give way to new forms of musical expression that are mysterious, powerful and filled with beautiful colors. A key to his deep understanding of new music is his close collaboration with living composers, like Horatiu Radulescu and Tristan Murail, two important composers with whom Mr. Royer has enjoyed a close working relationship.

Notes   Tracklisting

Title appears as 'The Viola Works' on front cover and disc and as 'The Works For Viola' on spine and back cover.

Recorded at Ev. Kirche, Honrath, Germany, 8 September 2008 & 17-18 March 2009.
'Three Studies' and 'Xnoybis' are first recordings.

Housed in jewel case with 24 page booklet containing English, German and French liner notes.

A coproduction with WDR Köln
℗ 2008 Westdeutscher Rundfunk Köln
© 2011 mode records. Made & printed in USA

  Manto (1957) (10:23)
1   I 3:48  
2   II 3:45  
3   III 2:50  
  Coelocanth (1955) (10:51)
4   I 3:02  
5   II 3:09  
6   III 4:40  
  Elegia Per Ty (1958) (10:28)
7   I 4:08  
8   II 3:28  
9   III 2:52  
  Three Studies (1956) (13:43)
10   I 5:22  
11   II 4:38  
12   III 3:43  
  Xnoybis (1964) (11:21)
13   I 3:52  
14   II 3:50  
15   III 3:39