We use cookies on our website to provide you with the best experience. Most of these are essential and already present.
We do require your explicit consent to save your cart and browsing history between visits. Read about cookies we use here.
Your cart and preferences will not be saved if you leave the site.



Yutie Lee

Flower Protocol (3x12")

Label: Public Possession

Format: 12" x 3

Genre: Experimental

In stock


"On the first 12" - in a package of three - the Taiwanese artist Yutie Lee covers six Chinese folk songs about Flowers. Tuberosa, Rose, Jasmine, Plum Blossom, Orchids & Chamomile all are odes to the beauty of the plant. The flower also being a metaphor for something we are desperately longing for, but can never quite get. However you may want to interpret the songs, they are all telling a story of something pure and indestructible. In the end nature will prevail? Romantic thoughts created in a time long before the current state of the world.

By artificially mutating her voice, Yutie Lee successfully manages to transfer the songs into 2020s arguably much more complex, dystopian reality. She does this not without a bow to the past, prevailing something of the original songs sweet essence, even adding a layer of humour… in the end leaving the listener with a feeling of good hope. To complete the package, Yutie Lee’s versions have been remixed by Alva Noto, Bell Towers, Laura Groves, Oceanic and Suzanne Kraft, which appear on the second and third 12" vinyl."

Cat. number: PP036
Year: 2020