We use cookies on our website to provide you with the best experience. Most of these are essential and already present.
We do require your explicit consent to save your cart and browsing history between visits. Read about cookies we use here.
Your cart and preferences will not be saved if you leave the site.


10% Off our entire stock. From now until Monday, at Midnight. As easy as that... and head this way for the Special Membership Campaign.
Out of stock

Robert Rauschenberg

Open Score


Format: DVD

Genre: Experimental

Out of stock

First volume in this electrifying avant-garde DVD series, documenting this 9 Evenings series in NYC from 1966. In 1966, 10 New York artists and 30 engineers and scientists from Bell Telephone Laboratories collaborated on a series of innovative dance, music and theater performances, 9 Evenings: Theatre & Engineering, held at the 69th Regiment Armory, New York City, in October 1966. The artists included are: John Cage, Lucinda Childs, Öyvind Fahlström, Alex Hay, Deborah Hay, Steve Paxton, Yvonne Rainer, Robert Rauschenberg, David Tudor and Robert Whitman. Archival material has been assembled into 10 films, each of which reconstructs the artist's original work and uses interviews with the artists, engineers and performers to illuminate the artistic, technical and historical aspects of the work. 9 Evenings: Theatre & Engineering is a 10 DVD set of films on this legendary series of theater, dance, and music performances. Open Score by Robert Rauschenberg is the first film to be released in a series that will bring to life a historic moment in contemporary art history. Open Score was performed on October 14th, 1966. It began with a tennis game between Frank Stella and his tennis partner, Mimi Kanarek, on a full-scale court laid out on the Armory floor. Rauschenberg had adopted one of the oldest forms of performance that everyone recognizes, a tennis match, and made it into dance. He also used the game 'to control the lights and to perform as an orchestra.' Each time Frank or Mimi hit the ball a loud BONG vibrated around the Armory and the sound of each BONG switched off one of the lights illuminating the court. All-region DVD, two-sided for both NTSC & PAL formats.
Cat. number: MC 596DVD
Year: 2007

More by Robert Rauschenberg


3xDVD | €40.50 €45.00
DVD | €21.59 €23.99
Day Is Done
DVDx2 | €32.40 €36.00
Seven Easy Pieces
DVD | €27.00 €30.00
Bandoneon! (A Combine)
DVD | €21.10 €23.45
Walden - Diaries, Notes & Sketches
2DVD BOX + BOOK | €53.09 €58.99
Variations VII
DVD | €20.07 €22.30