This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website.Learn more


Vanity Tapes - excerpt 01
Vanity Tapes - excerpt 02
Vanity Tapes - excerpt 03
Vanity Tapes - excerpt 04
Vanity Tapes - excerpt 05
Vanity Tapes - excerpt 06
Vanity Tapes - excerpt 07
Vanity Tapes - excerpt 08
Vanity Tapes - excerpt 09
Vanity Tapes - excerpt 10
Vanity Tapes - excerpt 11
Vanity Tapes - excerpt 12
Vanity Tapes - excerpt 13
Vanity Tapes - excerpt 14
Vanity Tapes - excerpt 15


Vanity Tapes (Box-set)

Label: Edition Nord

Format: 6 Tapes Box-set

Genre: Electronic

Out of stock

*100 numbered copies, sold-out at source** Japanese label Edition Nord presents an exclusive box-set which includes all the six tapes originally published by Vanity Records in 1981 that were collected in the Limited Edition Vanity Records Box Set, now one of the rarest artifacts of that period. Founded by Agi Yuzuru - a legendary music critic and editor, publisher of Rock Magazine - Vanity was active in the late '70s and early '80s, and its releases rank among the best of early experimental underground music in Japan.

The originator of this reissue project was Agi himself, who sadly passed away in 2018. Kentaro Hayashi, an artist highly acclaimed by Agi in his later years, took care of the remastering duties for this very special edition. The original design by Agi was reproduced as much as possible by Shin Akiyama the designer of '0g' the last editorial work of Agi.

The box is not exactly the same as the original, but a poster of the development of the original box is attached. This new outer box was designed with the design concept of '0g', a flexible structure that traces the fragility of the original thin paper box and is temporarily fixed by riveting with a soft paper covered with clothes.

The Vanity Tapes box-set includes the following albums:

Tape 1: Salaried Man Club - Gray Cross
Gray Cross features the signature sound of the trio Salaried Man Club who declare their white collar identity loudly with the industrial sound of an intellectual worker. They used to perform regularly at the club dee-Bee’s in Kyoto. They also appeared in Ylem’s compilation Awa (Foam).

Tape 2: Kiiro Radical - Denki Noise Dance
Kiiro Radical (Yellow Radical) is a group formed by Masaaki Mochida from Yonago City in Tottori Prefecture. The subtle, calculated, meticulous minimal electric noise ecstasy that Mochida presented was critically acclaimed by Agi as “the pinnacle of Japanese electronic music now” at the time of release. He also has 5 pieces included in the compilation Musik.

Tape 3: Densei Kwan - Pocket Planetaria
Densei Kwan is the group of Hidetsugu Saito from Fukushima. “Like a cause and effect interaction, the light bulb hidden in the boy’s trouser pocket, was actually a marble that was making some crashing sounds (pocket planetarium general statement)”. The original cassette release includes this Taruho Inagaki-esque quote attached to the quintessential electron (Densei Kwan) stirring up a miniature garden-like noise universe.

Tape 4: Invivo - B.B.B.
This is a project produced by Masao Tachibana from Zushi city. The first 6 tracks are called In Vivo: Inside The Living Organism and the remaining 6 tracks are entitled In Vitro: Inside a Test Tube. It is a biological term penned document of a bio-mutant generational experiment of atmospheric sounds. Invivo had one track included in the Musik compilation.

Tape 5: Wireless Sight - Endless Dark Dream
This is a project by Kunie Wakae who published the mini magazine called Musenongaku. Just playing piano, metronome, and radio noise, this artist created peaceful, post classical, spacious ambient sketches. He also did performances with visuals and dancers.

Tape 6: Nishimura Alimoti - Shibou
Ami Nishimura’s ensemble’s album, Shibou. With a band consisting of guitar, bass, drums and voice, this unit plays quite a primitive sound that recalls early Amon Duul, Metabolist and such. It digs heavily into the alt psychedelic rock field.

Cat. number: 0g_archive 001
Year: 2020

Cassette: 6 volumes
Box: 107x117x77 mm / chip cardboard coverd with cloth / riveted
Poster: 410x297 mm / black and white print
Card: 49x100 mm / black and white print

Related products

Tolerance - Vanity (5CD Box)
5CD Box | €69.90
Ocean Front Property
CD | €12.00
Aerial 1 (2LP)
LP | €36.00
Ghostly Agents (2LP)
2LP | €35.00
Swamps/Things (2LP)
LPx2 | €28.90
Echos+ (Lp)
LP | €26.90
Motus (2LP)
2xLP | €28.00
Komachi (LP)
LP | €23.90
Loh Land (LP + 7")
LP + 7" | €22.90
MMXX-07 (Etched Crystal Clear LP)
Etched Crystal Clear LP | €25.00
The Ninth Set
CD | €13.00
MMXX-06 (Etched Crystal Clear LP)
Etched Crystal Clear LP | €25.00
TAPE | €7.00
Mayu 繭
CD | €15.00
Zero Kama (3LP Box-set)
3LP Box-set | €58.00

More by Various

E3 (LP)
LP | €25.90
Vanity Records CD Box-sets bundle (27 CD)
4 x Box Set, 27CD in Bundle | €290.00
Vanity Records 'Demos' (6CD Box)
6CD Box | €69.90
The Vanity Box Vol.1 (5CD Box)
5CD Box | €69.90
Esterno Notte 3 (2LP)
2 LP | €29.90
Rearward in Italy (2LP)
2LP | €16.90
Vanity Records - Vinyl-On-Demand bundle (8LP in bundle)
8LP in bundle (2x Box-sets, includes 1 Shirt) | €166.00
Nigeria's Afrobeat - II (22 CD Bundle)
22 CD in bundle | €150.00
Nigeria's Afrobeat - I (21 CD Bundle)
21 CD in bundle | €150.00
Corona Care (special box)
LP | €250.00
Food for Thought (Book)
Book | €10.00
Sound American no. 21 (book)
Book | €18.00
Sound American Vol. 2 (book)
Book | €18.00