The item has been added to your personal Favourites collection

art bears

Winter Songs
€ 30.00
View your shopping activity

Wishlist 0

Cart 0

art bears - Winter Songs

art bears

Winter Songs

€ 30.00

LABEL: Rē Records
GENRE: Rock | FORMAT: Vinyl LP | CATALOG N. Re 0618 | YEAR. (1978)

Out of stock

1 copy only, original and new: The Art Bears' second album consists of twelve songs of various tensions: rest vs. speed, improv vs. pulse, space vs. density, Dagmar Kraus' vocals vs. everyone else. As usual, Chris Cutler's lyrics tell political allegories through medieval-tinged stories: slaves, castles, and wheels of fortune (and industry) dominate. Fred Frith explores discordance through his guitar, and European folk figures through his always enjoyable violin. Though not as confrontational as their other work, the centerpiece has to be the frantic 'Rats and Monkeys' with three minutes of teeth-gritting, out-of-control insanity as all three players are plugged into a wall outlet and let rip.

Notes   Tracklisting
Recorded at Sunrise Studio, Kirchberg, 22nd November to 5th December 1979. With 4-page 2-colour booklet by Chris Cutler.
A1   The Bath Of Stars
A2   First Things First
A3   Gold
A4   The Summer Wheel
A5   The Slave
A6   The Hermit
A7   Rats And Monkeys
B1   The Skeleton
B2   The Winter Wheel
B3   Man And Boy
B4   Winter / War
B5   Force
B6   3 Figures
B7   3 Wheels