This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website.Learn more


File under: Cosmic

People of the North

Sub Contra

Label: Thrill Jockey

Format: Vinyl LP

Genre: Rock

In stock


People of the North is Kid Millions (drums) and Bobby Matador (keyboard, synth, vocals) of Oneida, and Sub Contra is their Thrill Jockey debut. While their sound, like Oneida's, is constantly shifting and absorbing new concepts and ideas, Sub Contra is a work that fully embraces tumult and darkness in startling and dramatic ways. People of the North have been an active entity since 2003, but it wasn't until 2010 with the release of Deep Tissue on their own Brah imprint and Steep Formations, which followed in 2012, that recordings became an important part of the duo's identity. Sub Contra also features contributions from Shahin Motia and Barry London of Oneida.

File under: Cosmic
Cat. number: Thrill 337
Year: 2014

Limited Edition Of 500

More by People of the North