We use cookies on our website to provide you with the best experience. Most of these are essential and already present.
We do require your explicit consent to save your cart and browsing history between visits. Read about cookies we use here.
Your cart and preferences will not be saved if you leave the site.
Out of stock

Electronic Sound

Issue 60: Anna Meredith (Magazine + CD)

Label: Electronic Sound

Format: Magazine + CD

Genre: Electronic

Out of stock

We look back at the highlights of 2019 in this issue of Electronic Sound. And what a great year it was. No wonder we had trouble choosing our favourite records of of the year.

As you will have probably already worked out from the cover, one of our top picks is Anna Meredith, an artist who has brought her classical training and sensibility to electronic music, adding in her own various obsessions and coming up with something entirely fresh.

Other names that feature heavily in our 2019 review include krautrock legend Michael Rother, the former Neu! and Harmonia man, and folktronic pioneers Haiku Salut. And as well as presenting our Top 30 albums of the year, we've also selected our recommended reissues, compilations, soundtracks, books and gear. We're talking a feast of goodies here! 

Elsewhere this issue, Thomas Leer tells the story of 'Private Plane' and Nurse With Wound's Steven Stapleton explains the thinking behind the band's famous "weird music list".

We also chat to Richard Fearless, No-Man, Marconi Union and Irmin Schmidt from Can. Plus, of course, there's our jam-packed reviews section, our regular columnists, and much more besides. Happy Christmas! 2021! Remember what life was like in 2019. 

We put together a fantastic 14-track CD of some of the highlights of 2019 to accompany this month's issue. 'Bulletin F' features 14 choice cuts, with material from Anna Meredith, Michael Rother, Haiku Salut, Amon Tobin, Paranoid London, Stephen Mallinder, Alice Hubble, Eric Random, Jane Weaver, The Anti-Group, Blanck Mass, Fader, William Doyle and Daniel Davies. Phew. We also had a special Christmas bonus for you – a very splendid Electronic Sound record bag. Carry with pride!

Compilation tracks. 

1 Anna Meredith– Sawbones 4:40

2 Michael Rother– Karussel 5:23

3 Haiku Salut– Traction 4:37

4 Amon Tobin– Velvet Owl 7:47

5 Stephen Mallinder– Prefix Repeat Rewind 5:36

6 Alice Hubble– Kick The Habit 4:43

7 Fader (12)– Midnight Caller 4:25

8 Jane Weaver– Ivana Vessel 2:08

9 Paranoid London– Cult Hero 6:50

10 Eric Random– The Louder You Scream 5:35

11 William Doyle– Zionshill 4:46

12 Blanck Mass– Wings Of Hate 5:56

13 Daniel Davies– A New Dream 4:13

14 The Anti Group– After Upheaval (Abridged) 4:46


Cat. number: ES60
Released in a cardboard gatefold sleeve. Available with issue 60 of Electronic Sound magazine.

More from Electronic Sound