This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website.Learn more


01 Poem for Anna
02 Penny Whistle Montuna
03 Yours Alone
04 Afro Latin Junto II
05 Root Flute
06 Blue Flute
07 The Bob White Bird
08 Echoes
09 Dandelion Wine
10 Blue Cha Cha
11 Ill Remember Clover
File under: ModalPost Bop

Roscoe Weathers

I'll Remember (Lp)

Label: Jazzman Records

Format: LP

Genre: Jazz

In stock


LP version. Tip-on sleeve. For every celebrated name in jazz, soul and related music, there are probably another 1000 musicians who had all the talent and potential but for whom widespread recognition remained elusive. Roscoe Weathers is one such figure, a jazzman who earned his chops the hard way, a sideman in smoky clubs from Memphis to Seattle, before finally settling in LA. He recorded a significant amount of music through the 1960s, but never found the slightest modicum of commercial acclaim nor the success that comes with it. Overlooked by all but the tiniest of record labels, Weathers's released much of his material himself. Indeed, Jazzman Records can lay claim to be the first outside label to release any of his music since the early 1960s. That's sixty years of being overlooked by the record industry, so Jazzman Records release this first full-length album of his music in a first attempt at righting that historic wrong. A multi-instrumentalist, Weathers mainly led on the flute in his recorded output. The music here spans the course of the 1960s, and moves from laid back beatnik jazz stylings through to percussion heavy Afro-Latin influenced workouts. As usual with Jazzman, the label has not only dug deep to unearth Weathers's music but also his background and biographical details, shining much deserved light on this enigmatic and largely unheralded figure for the first time.

File under: ModalPost Bop
Cat. number: JMANLP 123
Year: 2020