We use cookies on our website to provide you with the best experience. Most of these are essential and already present.
We do require your explicit consent to save your cart and browsing history between visits. Read about cookies we use here.
Your cart and preferences will not be saved if you leave the site.


Out of stock

Marcus Schmickler

Rule Of Inference

Label: A-Musik

Format: CD digipack

Genre: Experimental

Out of stock

next to his prolific work as an electronic composer, improviser and producer, "rule of inference" once more features schmickler's as yet less known yet marvelous work as a composer and arranger for classical instrumental settings. similar to his widely regarded album "param" (2001), the album is a collection of various settings, all of them recorded over the course of the last years. "rule of inference" unveils a conception that marks various departures along the history of music: the album's pieces have in common, that they represent musical practice as destilled points of conjecture. ranging from renaissance madrigals to the monochrome practice of high modern 20th century the album forms a subjective, yet contemporary context modulation. packaged in artwork created by soma (stephen o'malley).
Cat. number: a37
Year: 2011

Rule of Inference: Schlagquartett Köln: Thomas Meixner, Boris Müller, Dirk Rothbrust, Achim Seyler. Recorded at Kunst-und Austellungshalle der Bundesrepublik Deutschland Bonn, May 29th, 2009.

Symposion for Orchestra : Members of Staatskapelle Weimar, Recorded October 2005.

Pieces from the 5th Book of Madrigals (11, 13 and 14): Clarinet: Markus Krusche, Violin: Alexej Barchevitsch, Viola: Fr. Scharipova, Violoncello: Markus Lobling. Composed 1611 by Carlo Gesualdo, arranged by Marcus Schmickler, 2009. Recorded at Nationaltheater Weimar, 21.09.2009. Engineered by Cornelius Seidel.

All pieces have been premiered in different versions and have been edited for this record. Mixed and Mastered August 2010 at Piethopraxis Köln.

THANKS: Felix Ensslin, Georg Odijk, Heike Sperling, Deutscher Musikrat, Kerstin Jaunich, Markus Kritzokat, Eva Müller, Siegfried Müller-Roosen, Fabian Marcello.