This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website.Learn more



Skin Alley

Skin Alley (LP)

Label: Akarma

Format: LP

Genre: Psych



Skin Alley were a British progressive rock band founded by Thomas Crimble and Alvin Pope in the autumn of 1968. The original lineup consisted of Crimble on bass guitar and vocals, Pope on drums, Max Taylor on guitar, and Jeremy Sagar on lead vocals. Taylor and Sagar left early in 1969, and were replaced by Krzysztof Henryk Juszkiewic on Hammond organ and Bob James on saxophone, flute, guitar and vocals. The band, comprising Thomas Crimble, Alvin Pope, Krzysztof Henryk Juszkiewicz and Bob James, were signed to CBS Records for their eponymous 1969 debut and its 1970 follow-up, To Pagham & Beyond. Crimble moved on that year to play bass with Hawkwind and organise the Glastonbury Festival, and was replaced by Nick Graham (formerly of Atomic Rooster, not to be confused with Nicky Graham from The End and Tucky Buzzard) before the album was completed, Graham singing on two of the tracks. Pope was later replaced by Tony Knight.

Cat. number: AK259
Year: 2021