This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website.Learn more




Label: Not Not Fun Records

Format: Vinyl LP

Genre: Electronic

Out of stock

Not surprisingly, Noah Anthony's inaugural 12-inch under his Profligate moniker is geared more towards dance floor demands than his stridently exploratory debut album, Come Follow Me (released just a month prior). The release sees the producer jettisoning the noise and drone aspects of his sound, concentrating instead on combining classic EBM and modern dark techno.

Of the plate's two tracks it's "Videotape" that most exudes EBM's brooding muscularity. Moreover, its base components (military march-n-shuffle, iridescent strings, chunky synth jabs, lurching bass) are straight-up monolithic. Yet the crafty ways in which Anthony manipulates each one's textural character allows them to gel gracefully into a throbbing, heaving industrial symphony-in-miniature. Particularly arresting is the decay-verses-growth contrast between the kick—colossal if crumbly, always flirting with implosion—and those strings, which blossom into dub-drenched fractals.

"Conditioning Trench" comes replete with hyper-brittle hand claps, silkily automated oscillations, whiplash snares and Teutonic murmurings that would make D.A.F.'s Gabi Delgado-López proud. As the track progresses, it mutates from icy monochrome to luxuriant technicolor, with throwback lasers (as well as a clutch of sweetly flavored synth-effects imported from Italo) multiplying and darting about the soundscape. Videotape marks Profligate as a name to be reckoned with—one who deserves mentioning alongside fellow dystopian heavies Vatican Shadow and Silent Servant.

Cat. number: NNF265
Year: 2013

Related products

Salaam Alekum, Bastard (2LP)
LP x 2 | €34.00
Swamps/Things (2LP)
LPx2 | €28.90
Shutting Down Here (LP)
LP | €18.90
Related Ephemera (LP)
LP | €17.90
Aix (LP)
LP | €18.90
Vernal Equinox (LP)
LP | €21.90
Echos+ (Lp)
LP | €26.90
Migrations (12")
12" | €18.90
Quiet Water (LP)
LP | €18.90
Ghostly Agents (2LP)
2LP | €35.00
Aerial 1 (2LP)
LP | €36.00
Plein Soleil (LP)
LP | €24.90
Mayu 繭 (2LP)
LP x 2 | €28.90

More from Not Not Fun Records

LP | €16.90
LP | €18.90
City of Sweat
LP | €16.00
Mask of the Maker
Vinyl LP | €15.90
Season Of Risk
7" | €7.90
Will Happiness Find Me
Vinyl LP | €14.99
Vinyl LP | €15.50
Mother Rhythm Earth Memory
Vinyl LP | €12.00
We're In Heaven
Vinyl LP | €12.00
Utopia = No Person
Vinyl LP | €14.90
Too Down To Die
Vinyl LP | €15.45
Radian lines
7" + book | €14.00
Vibrant New Age
Vinyl LP | €15.49
Bored Fortress
Vinyl 7” | €10.49
Foxy Baby
Vinyl LP | €15.99
Prophecy Of The Black Widow
Vinyl LP | €15.99
Mummy Fingers
TAPE | €6.50
TAPE | €6.50
Bringin\' The Heat
TAPE | €9.99
Jailhouse Rock
Vinyl LP | €11.99
Vinyl LP | €15.90
Silver Sea Surfer School
Vinyl LP | €14.99
Ring Mining
Vinyl LP | €14.90