We use cookies on our website to provide you with the best experience. Most of these are essential and already present.
We do require your explicit consent to save your cart and browsing history between visits. Read about cookies we use here.
Your cart and preferences will not be saved if you leave the site.




A Beat Of Silence

Label: Morr Music

Format: LP

Genre: Electronic

In stock


LP version. Includes an inner sleeve and a download code. Edition of 500. "With his latest record, Notwist singer and guitar player, film soundtracker and Alien Transistor label boss Markus Acher, aka Rayon, offers up a sparse, intoxicating album of instrumentals. As the name suggests, the spaces between notes here are treated with as much gravity as the notes themselves - arpeggios spiraling upwards, conflicting yet interlocking in a dizzying overlap of time signatures. An obvious reference point is Javanese gamelan, with its ensemble of hand-beaten metallophones and bamboo flutes, pulling in all directions at once and yet, like a starling murmur, maintaining shape as one, rippling whole. Eschewing electronic equipment, the title track sees marimbaphone, piano and vibraphone appearing to mimic a delay pedal, giving the effect of rain falling with odd regiment into a singing bowl. Melancholic but weirdly uplifting arrangements surface throughout the record, punctuated by mossy synth hums and subterranean rustling. Like much of Rayon's work, A Beat Of Silence beams across like a soundtrack for some forgotten documentary: dusty archive footage of cities being built and eroded in time-lapse seeming to flicker across the screen. Closing tracks "To the Quiet", a tentative, almost impossibly fragile ballad, and "Kona", a stretched and mangled wash of orchestral drone akin to Plinth or Edmund Finnis, leave the listener fully enveloped, as this incredibly sensitive work draws to a close." --Richard Greenan (Kit Records, Devon Loch) Personnel: Sachiko Hara - piano, harmonium; Cico Beck - marimbaphone, bass-drum, percussion, electronics; Karl Ivar Refseth - vibraphone, glockenspiel, bassdrum, percussion; Anton Kaun - objects, electronics; Markus Acher - harmonium, percussion, gongs, electronics; Tadklimp - electronics, algorithmic processing. Produced by Tadklimp and Markus Acher.

Cat. number: MORR 152LP
Year: 2016

More by Rayon

Il Collo e la Collana
LP | €15.50

More from Morr Music

Minna Miteru (2CD)
CD x 2 | €20.00
Minna Miteru (2LP)
LP x 2 | €30.00
Build a Diorama
CD | €14.50
Build a Diorama (LP)
LP | €19.90
Farewell Islands (LP)
LP | €19.90
Sylva (Book + CD)
BOOK + CD | €46.00