We use cookies on our website to provide you with the best experience. Most of these are essential and already present.
We do require your explicit consent to save your cart and browsing history between visits. Read about cookies we use here.
Your cart and preferences will not be saved if you leave the site.
Out of stock

Keith Fullerton Whitman


Label: Editions Mego

Format: Vinyl LP

Genre: Electronic

Out of stock

… Occlusion is a loose framework for a multi-channel, freely improvised piece of LIVE ELECTRONIC MUSIC, performed without the aid or consent of pre-recorded or even pre-arranged materials of any kind. A given realization will last between 10 and 30 minutes ; time is elastic. Every effort has been made to avoid divisible rhythms (although mistakes are occasionally made) ... Still, I consider it a "kind" of Dance Music.
These two realizations, recorded a week apart at festivals in France and The Netherlands during February 2012, capture the piece (much like those on the Generators LP) in two entirely different iterations, in states of (A) a mildly inebriated bliss & (B) an arbitrarily triggered blind rage. Both recordings were made at 24-bit, 96khz through the absolute cheapest means available to the consumer to do so. They sound fantastic.
Occlusions is a companion piece to Generators in that they share the same tool-set ... however, it is the FREE JAZZ yang to Generator's MINIMALIST yin. It is not recommended to those seeking meter, melody, cleanliness, or a clearly outlined organizational sense.

Cat. number: DeMEGO 026
Year: 2012

Side A recorded on February 18th, 2012 at LES ATELIERS DE BITCHE, Nantes, France. Performed on a 4.2 Quad Array, captured in stereo from the performer's perspective on a Zoom H1 HANDY RECORDER (Auto Level: OFF)

Side B recorded on February 25th, 2012 at PARADISO, Amsterdam, The Netherlands. Performed on a 4.2 Quad Array, captured in stereo from the performer's perspective on a Zoom H1 HANDY RECORDER (Auto Level: ON)

Thanks to Will Guthrie, Scott "Elwood" Stroud, Marcus Schmickler, Fred Lonberg-Holm, Paal Nilssen-Love, HEY COLOSSUS, and everyone @ CABLE# ... Lucas Van Der Velde, Annette Wolfsberger, Arie Altena, Olli Brown, Sam Britton, Daniel Jones, Mark Fell, Carl Michael Von Hausswolff, Okkyung Lee, Nick Cain, Thomas W. Patteson, Mark Cremins, Rabih Beaini, and everyone @ Sonic Acts XI ... Peter Rehberg, Eli Keszler, Geoff Mullen, Robyn Blair ..