We use cookies on our website to provide you with the best experience. Most of these are essential and already present.
We do require your explicit consent to save your cart and browsing history between visits. Read about cookies we use here.
Your cart and preferences will not be saved if you leave the site.
Out of stock

Yoshihide Otomo


Label: HEADZ

Format: CD

Genre: Electronic

Out of stock

Hailed as a hero of underground film in the 1960's, director Masao Adachi presents the shocking new film 'Yuheisha (Terrorist)' after a hiatus of 35 years. The soundtrack was composed by Yoshihide otomo, who is known worldwide for transcending the boundaries of jazz, improv, and noise. As a producer and film composer, he has gained critical acclaim for the soundtracks of 'Heart, beating in the dark', 'Canaria', and 'Boku Wa Imoto Ni Koi Wo Suru'. Also appearing in the film and playing acoustic guitar on the main theme song, 'Ringo No Theme', is Jim O'rourke (many may know him for his past associations with Gastr Del Sol and Sonic Youth). Other stellar guests include the 'queen of sinewaves', Sachiko M, also known for her collaborations with otomo in Filament-ONJO; experimental guitarist Tetuzi Akiyama who received the 2006 Best Album Award from The Wire magazine for his record 'Route 13 to the Gates of Hell : Live in Tokyo'; contemporary artist Norimizu Ameya and leader of Tokyo Grand Guignol; Yasunao Tone who in his 70's is still at the forefront of music and respected by the likes of Jim O'rourke and Autechre, and also composed the music for Adachi's 1960's film, 'Gingakei'; electronic musician Pardon Kimura, who was discovered by Yann Tomita and gained attention for his collaborations with Naruyoshi Kikuchi. The soundtrack was recorded at ZAK's st-robo studio, and engineered-mixed by ZAK himself. otomo did additional mixing for this soundtrack release, and even utilized narrative elements by Tomorowo Taguchi and PANTA who appeared in the film (respectively known as the frontmen for legendary bands Bachikaburi and Zunokeisatsu), making this soundtrack a thrilling sonic experience.
Cat. number: headz 88
Year: 2009