This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website.Learn more


01. Dew-drops
02. Coda
03. Looped
05. Grand Illusion
07. Unforgotten
08. The Water

Ekin Fil

Coda (LP)

Label: Helen Scarsdale Agency

Format: LP

Genre: Electronic

In stock


  In recent years, the Turkish drone-pop composer Ekin Fil (born Ekin Üzeltüzenci) has been refining her talents in the realm of the film score. Since her first recordings that were published by Root Strata and Students of Decay, she has always exhibited a preternatural ability to express the saddest of emotions through sound. Once channeled through the lens of a gauzy shoegazing smear of guitars and voice, she has peeling away layers of her ephemeral songs to reveal their emotional core. That compositional process that works so well for her award winning film scores informs the soft-focus tenebrous pieces of her 2020 album Coda.  It’s true that any number of these pieces on this album could announce the finale to an emotionally draining movie, but Ekin sculpts the entire album as a whole, dissolving one perfectly tempered piano motif, an impressionist ambient plume or a sibilant vocal melody into another. Just at the threshold of perception, she occasionally invokes cascades of distant noise that easily can be interpreted as the ominous premonitions for natural disasters - incoming storms, earthquakes, or tidal waves. This subtle disquiet amidst the introspective melancholy furthers the emotional weightiness of Coda.  Her somber, blissful compositions have considerable gravity of their own in the constellation of Grouper, Felicia Atkinson, and Harold Budd. Mastered by James Plotkin.

Cat. number: HMS054LP
Year: 2020

Related products

What Is Not True (2LP)
LPx2 | €27.90
Going Places (LP)
LP | €19.90
Collusion (2LP)
LPx2 | €27.90
Tolerance - Vanity (5CD Box)
5CD Box | €69.90
Vanity Records CD Box-sets bundle (27 CD)
4 x Box Set, 27CD in Bundle | €290.00
The Vanity Box Vol.1 (5CD Box)
5CD Box | €69.90
Plein Soleil (LP)
LP | €24.90
Sentimientos (LP)
LP | €26.90
Myscitismes (LP)
LP | €19.90
Shutting Down Here (LP)
LP | €19.90
Further Collusion (2LP)
LPx2 | €27.90
Just an Illusion (2LP)
LPx2 | €27.90
Meith (LP)
LP | €21.90
500-Push-Up (LP)
LP | €15.90
MMXX-07 (Etched Crystal Clear LP)
Etched Crystal Clear LP | €25.00

More by Ekin Fil

Maps (LP)
LP | €18.90
Ghosts Inside
LP | €19.90
Being Near (LP)
LP | €18.90
Ekin Fil
12'' | €16.50
Heavy (LP)
LP | €16.90
Inflame Ost
TAPE | €9.90

More from Helen Scarsdale Agency

Related Ephemera (LP)
LP | €17.90
We Share a Shadow
CD | €13.50
Samoa Highway (LP)
LP | €18.90
So Long
CD | €13.50
Lemegeton Party (LP)
LP | €18.90
Episodes (Lp)
LP | €18.90
Khayal Kuno
TAPE | €9.00
Pasar Fosil
TAPE | €9.00
TAPE | €9.00
Throttle & Calibration
TAPE | €9.90
60' Cassette
TAPE | €9.00
Ocean On Ocean (2LP)
2LP | €21.90
What Are The Roots That Clutch
CD | €12.00
The Decline Effect (2LP)
2LP | €21.90
2CD | €17.00
Interceptor (2CD)
2CD | €17.00
The Sleeping Moustache
CD | €13.50