This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website.Learn more


Inflatable Boy Clams

Inflatable Boy Clams

Label: Superior Viaduct

Format: 2x7

Genre: Rock

Out of stock

San Francisco provocateurs Inflatable Boy Clams recorded one of the greatest all-female art punk records ever made, a wrongfully obscure five-song double 7-inch EP which has garnered a cult following ever since its initial release on Subterranean Records in 1981. While the music blends simple instrumentation and captivating, quirky lyrics, the artwork looks like an early Rough Trade single, complete with posh Winogrand-esque photo of the group.
More of a performance art troupe than a traditional rock band, the Boy Clams often rotated between instruments and shared vocal duties: JoJo Planteen, Judy Gittelsohn and Carol Detweiler (the latter two both members of Pink Section), along with saxophone player Genvieve Boutet de Monvel.
It is easy to imagine Planteen dancing to "Skeletons" with its infectious bassline and kitschy organ (or even to the flip-side track "Snoteleks," which is the A-side played backward). "I'm Sorry" is the ultimate one-upmanship song that reveals that women can be sinister, too.
This first-time reissue comes from the original master tapes. Recommended for fans of Kleenex /LiLiPUT, Raincoats, and Bush Tetras.

Cat. number: SV035
Year: 2015

Related products

Detaching From Satan
Vinyl LP | €16.90
Veterans of disorder
| €21.00
Sings The Blues
LP | €18.90
CD | €14.99
Nine For Victor
CD | €16.50
A Gourd of Gold
Vinyl LP | €19.00
CD | €14.00
Master Of Pigeons
CD | €11.99
No More Forever (10")
10" | €12.00
TAPE | €6.00
Auto Glamour Sound
CD | €13.99
CD | €15.00
Smalltown Supersound On Fire
Vinyl LPx2 | €12.99
Apropos Cluster
LP | €18.90
Carpaccio Esistenziale
CD | €9.99
Black Phoenix Blues
Vinyl LP | €15.00
You Only Live Once
CD | €10.00
Collected Recordings
CD | €14.90
Holy Mountain
CD | €14.00
CD | €15.00

More by Inflatable Boy Clams

More from Superior Viaduct

In the Sea (2LP)
LPx2 | €30.00
Hard Attack
CD | €16.00
Ike Yard (LP)
LP | €21.00
Nation Time (Lp)
LP | €21.90
The Ascension (Lp)
LP | €18.90
Totale's Turns (LP)
LP | €19.90
LP | €22.90
CD | €15.00
Nine Months To The Disco
CD | €15.00
In The Kingdom Of Dub (LP)
LP | €19.90
CD | €12.00