This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website.Learn more





Label: EM Records

Format: CD digipack

Genre: Jazz

In stock

The Modern Sound Quintet were formed in Stockholm by Trinidadian steel drum master Rudy Smith. On Otinku, Smith wails out on his set of 'pans' (as I believe the vernacular goes) in an improbably slick bebop mode, accompanied by a rhythm section capable of keeping it free and swinging one moment, and then within an instant locking down a groove.


While pieces like the title track and 'Bye Bye Blackbird' flow effortlessly, 'Mercy, Mercy, Mercy' and 'Memphis Underground' lay down a solid bedrock of funk. It's a fairly unusual setup these guys tap into - seldom would calypso and '70s jazz-funk make for particularly easy bedfellows, but once you're over the initial novelty of hearing Smith's drums you'll find yourself sucked in.
Cat. number: EM1072CD
Year: 2009