We use cookies on our website to provide you with the best experience. Most of these are essential and already present.
We do require your explicit consent to save your cart and browsing history between visits. Read about cookies we use here.
Your cart and preferences will not be saved if you leave the site.



Label: Siren

Format: CD

Genre: Electronic

In stock


Raven is the first new Organum album release since that of Sorrow in 2010 (Siren Records) and was recorded in 2017.
For the realisation of Raven, Organum was comprised of David Jackman, Alan Jones, and Daisuke Suzuki.
The first Organum 12-inch release 'Tower of Silence' (LAYLAH-1985) was a work of multi-layered bowed sound and scraping metallic objects, but there was an innate silence within this wall of noise - as Basho’s Haiku poem echos :
“Deep silence, the shrill of cicadas, seeps into rocks.” Raven is composed of striking piano-keys, church bells, temple gongs, a crow, a raven and a rook and is divided into 13 parts.
In Raven, sounds appear from silence and then return again into that silence. Raven is a work within those very silences. You can contemplate emptiness intently after the sounds have ended. As in another of Basho’s Haiku poems : “The old pond, a frog jumps in, then silence again.”
Raven is another tower of silence and a listener will reflect, that absence and emptiness are the permanent essences of Organum's music, within the chaos and flux of its phenomena. Less is more and Organum leave with us only the bare essentials in Raven. Raven is neither a hymn, nor a requiem.

Cat. number: SIREN 28
Year: 2018
Packaged in a plain white tip-on cardboard jacket with insert and clear sticker affixed to the outer resealable plastic sleeve.