We use cookies on our website to provide you with the best experience. Most of these are essential and already present.
We do require your explicit consent to save your cart and browsing history between visits. Read about cookies we use here.
Your cart and preferences will not be saved if you leave the site.




Singles (LP)

Label: Room40

Format: LP

Genre: Electronic

Preorder: Releases July 8, 2022


Finland’s Sasu Ripatti aka Vladislav Delay has been responsible for some of the most radically positioned rhythmic electronic music of the past few decades. His willingness to abandon mea-sured and progression senses of repetition in favour of multi-layered unfolding pulses has become a touchstone for a new sensing of time. In a similar way, Norwegian guitarist Eivind Aarset has reappraised the harmonic and timbral ca-pacities of his chosen instrument, the guitar, and unlocked new perspectives on this seemingly familiar instrument. His experiments have unsurprisingly caught the ear of similarly restless artists such as Jon Hassell or David Sylvian, with whom Aarset has collaborated.It’s little wonder then that these two musicians have gravitated towards one another on Singles. Gravity seems a fitting metaphor too, in that this record is a series of orbits, elemental materials catching onto one another and hurtling the music in directions not really expected, nor trace-able. Singles is a record of dimension too, opening outward and collating, sometimes simultane-ously, texture and pulse into ultraviolet sonic nebula, as ecstatic as they are enveloping. From moments of fluid improvisation, emerge deeply morphic compositions that fold into and on top of themselves, forging an ever deepening sense of pressure and energy. At times open, reduc-tive and spatial, this record also has moments of explosive force, an excessive spilling over that speaks to the fearlessness of these two artists. These are unbounded works, pulling ever closer towards the very edges of what is knowable, in sound.

Cat. number: RM4161
Year: 2022

More from Room40

Viento (CD+Book)
CD+Book | €19.90
132 Ranks
CD | €13.50
CD | €13.50
Too Ne
CD | €13.50
Inshallahlaland (Tape)
Tape | €12.00
Guitar Studies I-III (CD+Book)
CD+Book | €19.90
Tomorrow Is Too Late
CD | €13.50
Zone 7
CD | €13.50
Oionos (CD + Book)
CD | €19.90
For Leolanda
CD | €13.50
Flare Blues (LP)
LP | €25.90
Material Interstices (LP)
LP | €23.90
Teenage Lontano (LP)
LP | €23.90