We use cookies on our website to provide you with the best experience. Most of these are essential and already present.
We do require your explicit consent to save your cart and browsing history between visits. Read about cookies we use here.
Your cart and preferences will not be saved if you leave the site.


Out of stock

Sudden Infant

My Life's A Gunshot - Retrospective 1989-2009 (4LP)

Label: Hronir Records

Format: Vinyl LPx4

Genre: Noise

Out of stock

20 Year retrospective of Joke Lanz's Sudden Infant project featuring 49 rare and unreleased tracks, as well as some classics. Luxurious set released on 4 LP's housed in 2 seperate fullcolour gatefold-covers, featuring paintings by Joke Lanz. Comes with 12x12 booklet with a 4-page essay about S.I. by G.X. Jupitter-Larsen. Limited Edition of 500 copies. Mastered & cut by Rashad Becker at D+M, designed by Bill Kouligas.' 'Born in Switzerland, now based in Berlin, Joke Lanz (aka Sudden Infant) is one of the most prolific and profound artists working in the border zones where performance and body art meet improvisation and Noise. In his Sudden Infant guise, Lanz creates a unique blend of physical sound poetry and epileptic noise bursts, using contact microphones, loops, tapes, etc. The result is an extreme form of musique concrète that juxtaposes spasmodic gibbering with a battery of disorienting electronics.' The Wire

Cat. number: hr8909
Year: 2010

Comes in two separate gatefold sleeves limited to 500 copies. Includes a four page 12" square sized booklet.

A1, A2, B5, D1 and D2 originally released on 1992 cassette, Artware Production, 1993.
A3, B3 and D3 originally released on 1989-1991 cassette, Schimpfluch, 1991.
A4, A7, B4, C1 and D4 originally released on Bandenkrieg CDr, SSSM, 1999.
A6 originally released on Swissotic Commune Document CDr compilation, Chocolate Monk, 1995.
B1 originally released on Latex Lady cassette, SSB, 1996.
B2 originally released on Species CDr, Solipsism, 1998.
B6 originally released on Broken Glass 7", Schimpfluch, 1989.
C2 originally released on Fracticide cassette compilation, Get A Job Records, 1995.
C4 originally released on The Car 005 cassette compilation, Old Europa Cafe, 1991.
C5 originally released on Sperm & Egg 7", Tadpole, 1992.
D6 originally released on Finals 990217 7", Cut-Up Construction Rec., 1999.
E1, E3 and E7 originally released on Turntable Cookbook CDr, Gameboy Records, 2002.
E2 originally released on Sidewalk Social Scientist LP, Tochnit Aleph, 2000.
E4 originally released on Denshi Zatsuon 15 Magazine + CD compilation, MSBR Records, 2000.
E5 originally released on business-card CDr, Twisted Knister, 2007.
E6 originally released on Philanthropic Phalanges CDr, Recordings For The Summer, 2002.
F2 and F6 originally released on Ear Wash CD, SSSM, 2003.
F3, F5 and F7 originally released on Look Left 3" CDr, Entr'acte, 2004.
F4 originally released on Live in Vienna 7", Klanggalerie, 2003.
F8 originally released on RRR-1000 LP compilation, RRRecords, 2009.
G1 originally released on Invocation Of The Aural Slave Gods CD, Blossoming Noise, 2005.
G2 originally released on Three Puppets CD, Needle Soup, 2007.
G4 originally released on Dark Sperm cassette, Teenage Whore Tapes, 2007.
G5 originally released on Oslo Oscillation Orgy 12", Entr'acte, 2007.
G6 originally released on business-card CDr, Audiobot, 2005.
H1 and H2 originally released on Psychotic Einzelkind CD, Blossoming Noise, 2008.
H3 originally released on Twilight Sleep cassette, SSB, 2008.
H4 originally released on For The Tasmanian Devils Lathe 9", Cipher Productions, 2007.
A5, C3, D5, F1 and G3 are previously unreleased.
A5 and C3 composed and recorded 1992.
D5 composed and recorded 1991.
F1 composed and recorded 2004.
G3 composed and recorded 2006.

Side F ends in a locked groove.

This album is dedicated to Max Lanz (1939-1978).

©Sudden Infant 2009

More from Hronir Records

CD | €11.00
Expanded Slam
10" | €10.00
Ansätze Zum Taumel (Lp)
LP | €15.00
Inside piano
Vinyl LP | €24.90
Vinyl LP | €16.99
Various amusements
CD digipack | €12.50