This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website.Learn more


Sunn O))), Ulver


Label: Southern Lord

Format: LP

Genre: Electronic

Out of stock

Doom behemoths Sunn O))) and Ulver meet for a deeply spiritual blood-letting on the eagerly anticipated 'Terrestrials'. What started out as an improvised all-night session between the bands following Sunn O)))'s 200th gig - playing to 2000 people at the Øya festival in Oslo, Norway, August 10th, 2008 - has grown into a tantric, cinematic dedication to the night some half decade in the making. The original tracks they created that night have been over-dubbed in the interim resulting in three extended pieces that have a widescreen, dare we say cinematic quality. "Let There Be Light" builds from a barely-there drone to a smokey arrangement that sounds something like Bohren and Der Club of Gore via Hex-era Bark Psychosis, all evocative space and shimmering lights, while "Western horn" accelerates on a single and austere note of sustained bass and low end, evolving gradually into a haunted soundscape featuring violins, clusters of Fender Rhodes and guitar pickups gradually layered beneath Anderson's augmented feedback. The 14-minute 'Eternal Return' is the most striking of the three tracks, closing the album with an epic Bohren/Badalementi-esque construct that takes 7+ minutes to reach a denouement involving Kristoffer Rygg singing about 'Pythagorean Egypt' with a wholly unexpected synthline for accompaniment. Try and imagine Mike Patton and Ennio Morricone battling it out for a vague idea of how it sounds; it really shouldn't work, and it'll no doubt prove divisive - but we just keep on returning to it, enjoying it more with every listen.

Cat. number: SUNN200LP
Year: 2014

Limited 180 gram vinyl, housed in a thick stock cardboard Stoughton style tip on jacket.

Related products

Reed Streams (Lp)
LP | €21.90
E3 (LP)
LP | €25.90
MMXX-07 (Etched Crystal Clear LP)
Etched Crystal Clear LP | €25.00
Ficciones Del Tropico (LP)
LP | €23.90
Tolerance - Vanity (5CD Box)
5CD Box | €69.90
Loh Land (LP + 7")
LP + 7" | €22.90
Sons of Ethiopia (LP)
LP | €29.90
Yes (2LP)
LP | €26.00
Swamps/Things (2LP)
LPx2 | €28.90
Vanity Records CD Box-sets bundle (27 CD)
4 x Box Set, 27CD in Bundle | €290.00
Vanity Records 'Demos' (6CD Box)
6CD Box | €69.90
Plein Soleil (LP)
LP | €24.90
Ocean Front Property
CD | €12.00
Ghostly Agents (2LP)
2LP | €35.00

More by Sunn O))), Ulver

CD | €15.90
Black One
LPx2 | €32.00
ØØ Void
Vinyl LPx2 | €29.99
ØØ Void
CDx2 | €15.99
Vinyl LP | €17.99
Monoliths & Dimensions
Vinyl LPx2 | €29.99
Vinyl LPx2 | €21.00
White 2
CD | €16.00
White 1
CD | €16.00

More from Southern Lord

CD | €16.00
CD | €15.00
Burnt Up On Re-Entry
Vinyl LPx2 | €25.00
Vinyl LPx2 | €32.00
Live in Japan
DVD | €15.99
Vinyl LPx2 | €18.00
Orange Vinyl LPx2 | €22.00
Vinyl LP | €16.99
Live at Jerusalem
Vinyl LP | €20.00
CD | €16.00