We use cookies on our website to provide you with the best experience. Most of these are essential and already present.
We do require your explicit consent to save your cart and browsing history between visits. Read about cookies we use here.
Your cart and preferences will not be saved if you leave the site.


Out of stock


The Curfew Recordings

Label: Harbinger Sound

Format: CD

Genre: Noise

Out of stock

The Curfew Recordings were made at a disused industrial site on the river Tyne in 1984 and feature John Smith (then publisher of Interchange magazine), Sean Dower (ex Death Magazine 52 & later of Bow Gamelan Ensemble) And John Mylotte (of the band Metgumnebone). The recordings were made inside a 10m tall and 26m wide, steel-plated cylindrical, structure, once used for bitumen storage. The instrumentation is acoustic and the recordings are unprocessed (the space however adds a remarkable reverb). Instrumentation included: bull roarers, spirit whistles, human thy-bone trumpet,chimes, pipes, gongs, flutes, drums, projectiles, scraped and bowed objects and other materials (glass, metal, bones and wood).This is the first digital transfer of the original tapes to become available.

Cat. number: HARBINGER110
Year: 2013

The Curfew Recordings were made at a disused industrial site in Derwenthaugh, near Scottswood on the river Tyne.
Track 1 recorded 27.03.84.
Track 2 recorded 23.07.84.

The track-listing as given on the back cover is incorrect - the actual running order on the disc is the reverse to what is listed.

Digipak. Limited to 300 copies.

More by Various

Apollo And Marsyas (4xBooks + 2CD)
4xBook+2cd | €84.00
Echo. The Images Of Sound II
CD | €50.00
The Call (Magazine)
Magazine | €19.90
Spring 2022 "Tetragon" (Magazine)
Magazine | €19.90
Blorp Esette Volume One (LP)
LP | €26.90
I.D. Art #2 (LP)
LP | €26.90
Sound (LP)
LP | €26.90
Pioneers of Electronic Music
CD | €15.00
Fall 2021 "Pursuance" (Magazine)
Magazine | €19.90
États-Unis Bundle III
5LP | €125.00
Valkoinen Kohina
LP | €9.90 €18.90

More from Harbinger Sound