We use cookies on our website to provide you with the best experience. Most of these are essential and already present.
We do require your explicit consent to save your cart and browsing history between visits. Read about cookies we use here.
Your cart and preferences will not be saved if you leave the site.

Pekka Airaksinen, Sami Pekkola, Samuli Tanner

Uudet Jes Opot (LP)

Label: Artsy Records

Format: LP

Genre: Experimental

In stock


* Edition of 300. In process of stocking * Pekka Airaksinen (1945–2019) was a pioneering composer of electronic and experimental music. Despite his undisputed position as one of the most significant factors in Finnish experimental music, he rarely performed live since the early days of Finnish underground in the 60’s and 70’s. He composed and developed his unique, gentle and enthusiastic approach to music at his private meditation center, far from the pulse and demands of life in the city. Luckily some exceptions did occur, like this live set with saxophonist Sami Pekkola and electronic musician Samuli Tanner.

The trio was formed around 2015 for private sessions and occasional live performances. The music varied from dreamy electroacoustic improvisations to blasting blowout sessions where Tanner switched to drums. In February 2017, they performed in Tampere and Helsinki, opening for Rashad Becker. The latter concert can be heard almost entirely on this record.

In loving memory of Pekka.

Cat. number: ART-25
Year: 2022