This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website.Learn more


Out of stock

Fumio Hayasaka, Masaru Sato

Akira Kurosawa's Movie Soundtracks (1950-1958)

Label: DOXY

Format: Vinyl LPx4

Out of stock

Doxy brings you this deluxe 4LP set of Akira Kurosawa's most celebrated soundtracks in commemoration of the 100th anniversary of the birth of this great master of Japanese cinema! Akira Kurosawa's films dominated Japanese cinema for nearly half a century and his influence has been so widespread and profound that the world's best filmmakers seem to unanimously sing his praise. He first gained the attention of the international filmmaking community in 1951 when his masterpiece, Rashomon, won top prize at the Venice Film Festival. It was during this time that Kurosawa also began collaborating with the award-winning composer Fumio Hayasaka. The two great men soon formed a deep connection, with Kurosawa later commenting that Hayasaka caused him to see film music as a 'counterpoint' to the image instead of a mere 'accompaniment'. Another promising young composer, Masaru Satō, soon joined the ranks at Toho Studios, working under Hayasaka. However, when Hayasaka died suddenly in 1955, Satō was left on his own to finish the unfinished film score. Kurosawa was so impressed with the results that he asked Satō to score his next two films, Throne of Blood and The Hidden Fortress. Includes soundtracks to: Rashomon (1950), the dramatic Ikiru aka 'To Live' (1952), the epic Seven Samurai (1954), Record of A Living Being aka 'I Live in Fear' (1955), 1957's much celebrated adaptation of Macbeth, Throne of Blood, and 1958's The Hidden Fortress." Deluxe 4-fold gatefold 4LP set. One of FACT magazine's 20 best collectible records of 2010.

Cat. number: DOY002QLP
Year: 2011

4-fold gatefold 4LP set 140 gram virgin vinyl - Ltd edition 1000 copies

More by Fumio Hayasaka, Masaru Sato