We use cookies on our website to provide you with the best experience. Most of these are essential and already present.
We do require your explicit consent to save your cart and browsing history between visits. Read about cookies we use here.
Your cart and preferences will not be saved if you leave the site.
Special 10% discount on all in stock items until Sunday at midnight!


Catapilla (LP)

Label: Trading Places

Format: LP

Genre: Psych

In stock


Trading Places present a reissue of Catapilla's self-titled album, originally released in 1971. Jazz-infused prog rock act Catapilla began in London in 1970, with saxophonists Robert Calvert (who later worked with Daevid Allen in various Gong spin-off projects) and Hugh Eaglestone, bassist Dave Taylor (of chart-topping pop act Edison Lighthouse, and later active in hard-rock group, Liar), along with drummer Malcolm Frith, guitarist Graham Wilson, and clarinet player/flautist, Thierry Rheinhardt; original vocalist "Lady" Jo Meek quit early (to work with the keyboardist, poet, and science fiction author, Julian Jay Savarin) and was duly replaced by her sister, Anna, whose gutsy gasps gave the band its noteworthy difference, along with the woodwinds and horns. Former Millionaires' bassist Cliff Cooper (who had worked with producer Joe Meek before founding Orange Amplifiers), brought Catapilla to the attention of Black Sabbath's manager, Patrick Meehan, who swiftly got them a contract with Vertigo, Philips's prog subsidiary; this self-titled debut has four freaky tracks, including the side-long closer, "Embryonic Fusion". 180 gram vinyl; gatefold sleeve. Licensed by Cherry Red.

Cat. number: TDP54031
Year: 2023
Packaged in a gatefold jacket with black polylined LP sleeve and hype sticker affixed to the shrink wrap on the front.

More by Catapilla