We use cookies on our website to provide you with the best experience. Most of these are essential and already present.
We do require your explicit consent to save your cart and browsing history between visits. Read about cookies we use here.
Your cart and preferences will not be saved if you leave the site.



Ian Boddy

Tone Science

Label: DiN

Format: CD

Genre: Electronic

In stock


*2022 stock* Ian Boddy, DiN label boss, is one of the best known names in UK electronic music. He has been releasing music for over 35 years as well as playing concerts, creating sound design and composing library music. Yet despite this long musical career he still manages to surprise his listeners and Tone Science could represent his most experimental album to date. For this release Boddy has returned to his musical roots where experimentation was the name of the game.

He has always been fascinated by the random qualities of natural phenomena such as streams, waves, the leaves on a tree or the clouds in the sky. Whilst they seem, on the one hand to always be the same, they are in fact constantly changing and their patterns never exactly repeat. With this thought in mind he set about creating soundscapes using controlled random systems that could self generate themselves using his analogue modular gear. The pitches of the notes in each piece were massaged into various musical scales by the use of note quantisers giving each of the tracks a distinct harmonic voice. The composition process was the creation of the patch itself and in fact he didn’t physically play anything at all at the recording stage. What you hear on these five pieces is the result of these complex interactions. Like the natural phenomena he describes above they appear to stay the same yet they never repeat and each has a distinct mood. By restricting his audio palette on this project to only his analogue modular instruments including vintage FX the pieces have a very pure, electronic nature.

With “Tone Science” Boddy proves once again that he never rests in his personal musical journey. There are always new sonic territories to explore and for the adventurous listener this album opens up a whole new world of electronica to enjoy.

Cat. number: DiN49
Year: 2016
Comes in a four panel digipak. Composed, programmed and recorded March 2013 - January 2014. Edited, mixed and mastered October 2015. Instruments: Serge modular, Roland System 100-M modular Eurorack modules: Doepfer, Make Noise, Cwejman, Livewire, Intellijel, 4ms & Analgue Systems. FX units: Moog MF-104M Analog Delay, Analog Systems RS-390 Echo, Boss DD-20 looping delay pedal, Doepfer & Accutronics Spring Reverbs. On the back: DDD Made in the EC Limited to 500 copies © 2015 by Ian Boddy

More by Ian Boddy

CD | €13.50
Outland (LP)
LP | €21.90
CD | €15.00
CD | €15.00
Spectroscopic 1979-1982 (3xLP Box)
Vinyl LPx3 | €40.00 €55.00

More from DiN

The Homeland Of Electricity
CD | €13.50
Node Live
CD | €12.00
Hyperincandescent (LP)
LP | €23.90
Reality Engine
CD | €15.00
An Ascent
CD | €15.00
CD | €15.00