This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website.Learn more




Earle Brown Contemporary Sound Series Vol. 1

Label: WERGO

Format: CDx3

Genre: Experimental

Out of stock

Featuring The Manhattan Percussion Ensemble, John Cage (conductor), Paul Price (conductor), Christoph Caskel (percussion), David Tudor (piano), Aloys Kontarsky (piano), Bernhard Kontarsky (celesta), MEV (Ala Bryant, Alvin Curran, Frederic Rzewski, Richard Teitelbaum & Ivan Vandor), AMM (Cornelius Cardew, Lou Gare, Christopher Hobbs, Eddie Prevost & Keith Rowe). "Wergo's Earle Brown Contemporary Sound Series focuses on the extraordinary world of contemporary and avant-garde music that flourished in Europe, the United States, Latin America and Japan in the 1960s and early 1970s. Recorded between 1960 and 1973, the original eighteen LPs that comprise this series have been highly sought after in the secondary market since 1978 when they were discontinued. These rare and historically important recordings of international avant-garde music have been carefully digitized and remastered by the Earle Brown Music Foundation. Brown was a major force in the world of contemporary classical music. He studied mathematics and engineering at Norteastern University, and attended the Schillinger House School of Music for techniques of composition and orchestration. His work with new notations, scoring methods and performance attitudes led to his development of graphic, improvisational and 'open-form' scores. Wergo will release six 3CD sets of these recordings between now and 2011. Each set will contain three CDs in jewel boxes including the original liner notes and cover art."
Cat. number: WER 69282
Year: 2010
Comes in a box with three CD's in regular jewel case and four booklets contaning liner notes in English, German and French. This set is volume one in a series of six volumes reproducing 18 LP albums originally released on Time Records and Mainstream Records. These albums were curated and published by Earle Brown between 1960 and 1973. The individual CD's have been reproduced with original artwork and liner notes. The fourth booklet contain further info on the series, not included with the original releases.

Related products

Im Lungau (LP)
LP | €19.90
Om Shanti Shanti Om (LP)
LP | €19.90
Nish-Nah (LP)
LP | €19.90
Complete discography (3x LP bundle)
3 coloured LP in bundle | €59.90
Yeo-Neun (LP)
LP | €18.90
CD | €14.50
Zviy (tape)
TAPE | €9.00
The Sense of Hearing (LP)
LP | €19.90
The Sacrificial Code (2LP)
LP x 2 | €29.90
Linea Mundi (LP)
LP | €20.90
Land of Waves (2LP)
2LP | €24.90
Genetic (LP)
LP | €23.90
Star Trap (LP)
LP | €19.90
Om Shanti Shanti Om
CD | €14.00
Hyakki Yagyō (Lp)
LP | €22.90
Ike Yard (LP)
LP | €21.00
Albergo Intergalattico Spaziale (LP + 7")
LP + bonus 7" + 3 inserts + poster | €23.90
The Body's Night (LP)
LP | €21.00
CD | €14.99

More by Various

Freedom Power (LP)
LP | €26.90
Vanity Records - Vinyl-On-Demand bundle (8LP in bundle)
8LP in bundle (2x Box-sets, includes 1 Shirt) | €166.00
Esterno Notte 3 (2LP)
2 LP | €29.90
Vanity Tapes (Box-set)
6 Tapes Box-set | €149.90
Rearward in Italy (2LP)
2LP | €16.90
The Bedroom Tapes (LP)
LP | €25.90
Tracce Magnetiche (2LP)
2LP | €23.90
Excavated Shellac: Strings
CD | €13.50
Fantastic Architecture
BOOK | €27.90
Maggot Brain #2 (Mar/Apr/May 2020)
Magazine | €15.00