We use cookies on our website to provide you with the best experience. Most of these are essential and already present.
We do require your explicit consent to save your cart and browsing history between visits. Read about cookies we use here.
Your cart and preferences will not be saved if you leave the site.




Apollo and Marsyas: Het Apollohuis 1980-1997, an Anthology of New Music Concepts

Label: Het Apollohuis

Format: Double CD

Genre: Sound Art

In stock


All tracks (with three exceptions) recorded during concerts and performances organized by Paul Panhuysen that took place at Het Apollohuis (Eindhoven, The Netherlands). Edition of 1,250 copies in a double-Digipak sleeve. This double CD-set gives an idea of the music and the sound art presented at Het Apollohuis in the period from 1980 through 1997. From a total of 500 performances, Paul Panhuysen chose thirty-eight to be excerpted here. René van Peer wrote the liner notes which are illustrated with black-and-white photographs of the performers.

Derek Bailey (guitar), Ernst Reijseger (cello) recorded 25 December 1983. Tom Johnson (voice, bells) recorded 13 May 1984. David Gibson (cello) recorded 1 June 1984. Tibor Szemzö recorded 15 October 1984. Rolf Julius (buzzers) recorded 23 November 1984. Ned Rothenberg (alto saxophone) recorded 25 May 1985. Elliott Sharp (guitar) recorded 4 October 1985. Vivenza (servomechanims) recorded 13 October 1985. Pauline Oliveros (accordion) recorded 15 June 1986. Arnold Dreyblatt / Orchestra of Excited Strings recorded 31 May 1986. Carl Stone (computer) recorded 23 November 1986. Carlos Santos (piano, voice) recorded 15 March 1987. Joe Jones (solar automata) recorded 1-2 May 1987. Takehisa Kosugi (violin, voice, electronics) recorded 17 May 1987. Terry Fox (long strings) recorded 23-24 May 1987. Walter Fähndrich (viola) recorded 6 June 1987. Fast Forward (metal percussion) recorded 26 September 1987. Alvin Lucier (electronics) recorded 1 November 1987. Alvin Curran (piano, voice, synthesizer) recorded 28 November 1987. Richard Lerman (electronics) recorded 20 April 1988. Jerry Hunt (acoustic instruments, electronics) recorded 23 April 1988. Shelley Hirsch (voice), David Weinstein (keyboard, electronics) recorded 4 June 1988. Eliane Radigue (electronics) recorded 2 April 1989. The Hub (computers) recorded 7 March 1992. Teodoro Anzelotti (accordion) recorded 14 March 1992. Pierre Berthet, Brigida Romano (percussion instruments) recorded 10 April 1992. Warren Burt (interactive computer system) recorded 9 May 1992. S.E.M. ensemble (drums) recorded 23 May 1992. Jim O'Rourke (electric guitar) recorded 5 March 1993. Borbetomagus (saxophones + guitar) recorded 15 May 1993. John Butcher (saxophone), Phil Minton (voice) Erhart Hirt (guitar) recorded 26 November 1993. Iva Bittova (violin, voice) recorded 18 February 1994. Stevan Kovacs Tickmayer (piano) recorded 27 February 1994. Rafael Toral (electric guitar, electronics) recorded 25 September 1994. David First (keyboard) recorded 26 October 1995. Reinier Van Houdt (piano) recorded 23 February 1996. Kaffe Matthews (computer, violin) recorded 28 March 1996. Matt Rogalsky (electronics) recorded 16 January 1997. All tracks (with three exceptions) recorded during concerts and performances organized by Paul Panhuysen that took place at Het Apollohuis (Eindhoven, The Netherlands). Front cover "The Gates of Pythagoras" by Paul Panhuysen.

Cat. number: ACD 090217
Year: 2002

More by Various

Sound (LP)
Sound (LP)
LP | €26.90
Child Of Nature (LP)
Child Of Nature (LP)
LP | €34.00
Ignota Diary 2023
Ignota Diary 2023
Book | €22.00
Do Disturb
Do Disturb
CD | €14.50
Phonetische Poesie
Phonetische Poesie
CD | €14.00
Apollo And Marsyas (4xBooks + 2CD)
Apollo And Marsyas (4xBooks + 2CD)
4xBook+2cd | €84.00