We use cookies on our website to provide you with the best experience. Most of these are essential and already present.
We do require your explicit consent to save your cart and browsing history between visits. Read about cookies we use here.
Your cart and preferences will not be saved if you leave the site.
Out of stock

Sven-Åke Johansson, Bertrand Denzler, Joel Grip

Neuköllner Modelle (Sektion 1-2)

Label: Umlaut Records

Format: LP

Genre: Jazz

Out of stock

Sektion 1-2 is an extravagant LP-production which depicts the new musical thoughts and craftsmanships of three musician identities who couldn’t be further apart (or better distributed) in age. Together they work on the form. The result is a radical suspended shape of instrumental interplay, exploring unbound rhythms, structures, and harmonies.

Even though Neuköllner Modelle draws attention to Free Jazz (a genre of which Sven-Ake Johansson became one of the european pioneers), their methods embosses conscious focus on current tensions. Johansson has called this music Constructive Free Jazz, or also: Non-Expressive Free Jazz.

Grip, Denzler and Johansson, respectively in their early thirties, early fifties and early seventies, found each other through the intertwining scenes between Paris and Berlin. When taking a look at their previous musical activities you will get an exquisite account of the contemporary history of experimental improvised musics (yes, plural!) in Europe. It is a dense heritage in service of forming a new model for a creative process. Emerged through the questioning of methods, Neuköllner Modelle combine bipolar procedures in creating something which could be likened with a retarding ballad of the insistent up-tempo murmur accelerating in the backdrop-world of today.


This LP release – Sektion 1-2 – will be followed up by a double CD release – Sektion 3-7 [umcd2627] (to be released end of 2016) – where the trio Neuköllner Modelle is joined by pianist Alexander von Schlippenbach.

Recorded by Andrew Levine at Sowieso, Berlin, November 2015. Mastered by Werner Dafeldecker. Cover design by Teresa Iten. Liner notes (in german and english) by Bastian Zimmermann. Produced with the support from The Swedish Art Council.

Cat. number: UMLP 003
Year: 2016

More by Sven-Åke Johansson, Bertrand Denzler, Joel Grip