We use cookies on our website to provide you with the best experience. Most of these are essential and already present.
We do require your explicit consent to save your cart and browsing history between visits. Read about cookies we use here.
Your cart and preferences will not be saved if you leave the site.



Iro Haarla - Ulf Krokfors Loco Motife

Penguin Beguine

Label: TUM Records

Format: CD

Genre: Jazz

In stock


After their duo album Heart of a Bird, Iro Haarla and Ulf Krokfors wanted to make a recording with a different overall atmosphere and have some fun doing it with a larger ensemble. To achieve this, a group of friends was brought together to form the Iro Haarla-Ulf Krokfors Loco Motife. The music of Penguin Beguine is based on an electric sound especially in the form of Haarla´s different keyboards and Mikko Iivanainen´s electric guitar. Add strong compositions by Haarla and Krokfors, powerful personal expression from the soloists - including famed Swedish trumpeter Anders Bergcrantz and saxophonists Mikko Innanen and Rasmus Korsström - and you are sure to hear prime contemporary jazz. Penguin Beguine received the Emma Award as the Best Finnish Jazz Recording of the Year in 2005.

Cat. number: TUM CD 011
Year: 2005
Recorded at Mango Studios in Magnusborg, Porvoo, Finland on January 3-6, 2004. Mixed at Neo Music in Helsinki, Finland, and at DER in Tammisaari, Finland. Mastered at DER. Total playing time 49:03 Trifold Digipak Made in the EU

More from TUM Records