This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website.Learn more





Label: Sub Rosa

Format: LP

Genre: Experimental

In stock


Brussels-based string quintet BOW celebrates musical freedom. Juggling between their own written music and pure improvisation, the ensemble has worked since its creation on a personal and modern approach, digging into their instruments' capabilities and blending a large scope of influences.

Its debut eponym LP, due to be released on Sub Rosa, gathers five instantly-composed pieces that were recorded live by Christine Verschorren in the Echo Collective studio in Brussels. During the day, BOW repeated musical concepts, textures, and interactive games. Then, during the night, with the machine already well-oiled and the musicians free of all expectations, the ensemble embarked out into the unknown, discovering with wonder unexplored sonic territories, delivering a deep and profound music woven with five strands of yarn.

Over the years, BOW has collaborated with artists such as jazz singer Melanie De Biaso, Composer Laurent Plumhans, Vj Dirty Monitor, Théâtre de l'Ancre and most recently with the gypsy guitarist Myrddin De Cauter as well as Aidan Baker. A first EP was released in 2019 on Icarus Records, a live radio session duplicated on limited cassette edition.

BOW is an ensemble made up of the musicians Margaret Hermant (Echo Collective) and Benoit Leseure on Violin, Jean-François Durdu on Viola, Marine Horbaczewski on Cello and Cyrille de Haes (Otto Lindholm) on Double Bass.

Sub Rosa is publishing here their first realization. Members of BOW have played with Johan Johannsson, A Winged Victory For The Sullen, Steve Reich Project, Echo Collective, Otto Lindholm.

Cat. number: SRV497
Year: 2020
An LP that opens the horizon of neoclassicism to controlled improvisation practices that elude its tendency to mannerism and its occasional sense of two-dimensionality.

More by BOW

CD | €13.50

More from Sub Rosa

City of Light (LP)
LP | €15.50
Vinyl LP | €14.99
Red Sugar
CD | €13.50
South from Here (LP)
LP | €16.50
South from Here
CD | €13.50
Chevaliers (LP)
LP | €16.50
Rawfrucht (Lp)
LP | €16.50
CD | €13.50
My Eight Little Planets
CD | €13.50
Everything Starts (LP)
LP | €15.90
Nothing Is Finished
CD | €13.50