This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website.Learn more



Far West

Label: Important Records

Format: Vinyl LP

Genre: Rock

Out of stock

On "Far West," the Master Musicians of Bukkake mark a turn from their Totem Trilogy. If the Totems were an expression of yang energy, then the "Far West" cycle is the yin that took seed within the trilogy. What happens when you travel so far east looking for enlightenment that you pass your destination and are headed west again? The mania of being lost in the mountains of the Cascade Corridor, searching aimlessly for the Northern Pacific coast. A spiritual Donner party of sorts, feeding off fantasy and mirages and imaginary shamans. "Far West" is the soundtrack to this expedition to the caves of light we all travel into with hopes of acquiring redemption, only to realize our bodies have dissolved—gone like rain from the sky, snow from the ground, thoughts from the mind. The sound of "Far West" is a progressive folk record inspired by Paul Giovanni's Wicker Man soundtrack, early Canterbury prog folk, the suspenseful soundtracks of Goblin and Ennio Morricone, Gerry Goldsmith's interwoven dark orchestrations, and Pacific Northwest folk rock. The Master Musicians of Bukkake take an earthly and shamanistic approach to these influences and infuse it with Krautrock pulses interweaved with acoustic guitars, intricately layered rhythms, hazed-out modular analog synths, brassy stabs, and cultish choirs. A true psychedelic, audiophile experience to dissolve your body in.

"Far West" also features backing vocals by Sub Pop! recording artists Rose Windows,
a deluxe cover illustration by Simon Fowler, and the amazing photography of Alison Scarpulla.

"Far West" was recorded and mixed by Randall Dunn. Produced by Randall Dunn and Master Musicians of Bukkake.
Mastered at Chicago Mastering by Jason Ward.
Photos by Alison Scarpulla. Cover illustration and layout by Simon Fowler. Art direction Randall Dunn

Cat. number: IMPREC386
Year: 2013

Master Musicians of Bukkake is:
David Abramson: percussion, drums, tef, shaman shakers, green fog
B.R.A.D: percussion, vocals, candles, sights unseen
Don McGreevy: percussion, drums, 12 string electric and acoustic guitar, mellotron, bass, brass arrangements
Randall Dunn: korg analog synths, mellotron, divining rod, water seeking foolishness
Milky: electric and acoustic guitar, synths, vocals, mossy fuzz
Timm Mason: electric guitar, serge modular synth, electric bass, insects

Additional "Far West " Congregation and guests:
Samantha Boshnak: trumpet, flugelhorn
Naomi Siegal: trombone
White Mountian Voices: Nils Petterson, Rabia Quazi, Richie Rico
Keith Lowe: contra bass
Craig Flory: baritone and tenor saxophone

Lyrics and music for "Circular Ruins" based on The Jorge Louis Borges story of the same title.

"Like snow from the ground
leaves from the trees
rain from the sky
dew from the grass
and thoughts from the mind
So to shall you disappear..." (Zen poem , unknown author)

Related products

Elephant Ball
LP | €21.90
The 4th world
CD | €14.50
Detaching From Satan
Vinyl LP | €16.90
Genclik Ile Elele
CD | €13.99
Emotional Planet
Vinyl LP | €16.90
CD | €13.00
Shitgaze Anthems
Vinyl LP | €14.99
CD | €16.99
Vinyl LP | €21.00
Sub Contra
Vinyl LP | €16.00
CD | €12.00
Past Or Beyond
Vinyl 7” | €7.99
You Only Live Once
CD | €10.00
Jack Ruby
LP | €17.90
Veterans of disorder
| €21.00
Nine For Victor
CD | €16.50
Live At F.W.
TAPE | €7.99
Pass No Past
CDx2 | €34.00
Voici la Nuit Tombee
LP | €18.90

More from Important Records

Aerial 1 (2LP)
LP | €36.00
CD | €15.50
Millz Medz (LP)
LP | €23.90
Orpheus Variations (CD)
CD | €13.50
Ex Patris
CD | €8.00
Split (LP)
LP | €23.90
Shasta Cults (LP)
LP | €23.90
Chry-Ptus (2LP)
LPx2 | €38.00
Vibe (LP)
LP | €23.90
Phonurgia Metallis
CD | €15.00
Home Age 2
CD | €15.00
Reverberations 1 (2LP)
LPx2 | €32.00
Music For Cello
CD | €14.00
Descending (Lp)
LP | €22.90