This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website.Learn more



Four Pieces For Mirai

Label: Private

Format: TAPE

Genre: Electronic

Out of stock

The first instalment of a stunning self-released opus by a pivotal thinker of our age; James Ferraro, the start of a four-part dystopian saga about digital feudalism and the Internet of Things. Riyl Elysia Crampton, Haruomi Hosono, Wendy Carlos, Oneohtrix Point Never… 
Four Pieces for Mirai is a stunning prelude to James Ferraro’s epic new work about civilisational decline, planned to span four releases this year. The initial transmission finds the preeminent bard and prescient se’er of the 21st Century establishing a dystopian present not dissimilar to our own, where society is in feudal bondage to digital networks, and the best resolution to the problem is a malware DDoS attack that disrupts the hold of the internet. In keen pursuit of the hi-fi avant-pop themes central to Ferraro’s work since his critically acclaimed Far Side Virtual [Hippos In Tanks, 2011], Ferraro sets the scene for a timely and playfully foreboding vision of where humanity is headed, based on where we are now.

Integrating ideas from medieval music, Rensaissance music and ambient electronics with traces of hardstyle techno trance, metal, and indie-pop, the results broadly acknowledge and distill the modern sonic ecology to paint a dramatic realisation of humanity at a crisis of technological abundance and dysfunction, conceptually showcasing Ferraro’s uncanny ability to translate the peculiar character of our historical times into precise musical expression.

As the relationship between the scale of big data and socio-political structures becomes inarguably apparent in recent times, few artists are better equipped than James Ferraro - a pioneer of prevailing vaporware and lo-fi trends - to incisively meditate and imagine a future the world is anxiously anticipating.
Cat. number: MIRAI
Year: 2018
Limited Edition self-released tape including download. 250 copies.

Related products

Sons of Ethiopia (LP)
LP | €29.90
Ficciones Del Tropico (LP)
LP | €23.90
Plein Soleil (LP)
LP | €24.90
Vanity Records CD Box-sets bundle (27 CD)
4 x Box Set, 27CD in Bundle | €290.00
Aerial 1 (2LP)
LP | €36.00
Swamps/Things (2LP)
LPx2 | €28.90
Tolerance - Vanity (5CD Box)
5CD Box | €69.90
Ghostly Agents (2LP)
2LP | €35.00
Ocean Front Property
CD | €12.00
E3 (LP)
LP | €25.90
Vanity Records 'Demos' (6CD Box)
6CD Box | €69.90
Yes (2LP)
LP | €26.00
Related Ephemera (LP)
LP | €17.90
MMXX-07 (Etched Crystal Clear LP)
Etched Crystal Clear LP | €25.00
Reed Streams (Lp)
LP | €21.90

More by James FERRARO

More from Private

For a Moment Nothing Happens
Tape | €8.00
TAPE | €7.00
Oscilla (Cd)
CD | €15.00
Kiki's Island (10")
10" | €14.00
BOOK + CD | €15.00
Quitratue (Lp)
LP | €21.00
Snoring (Lp)
LP | €24.00
Endless Sky
TAPE | €7.50
Bana Mulenga
LP | €24.90
Hacia la luz
LP | €13.90
Worte wie Schall und Rauch
CD + 8 A5 prints | €12.00
The Alvin Curran Fakebook
Book, 300 p. | €27.00
Sol Sketches
CD | €10.00
BOOK + CD | €15.00
CD | €8.99