This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website.Learn more



BJ Nilsen

Massif Trophies (Lp)

Label: Editions Mego

Format: LP

Genre: Electronic

In stock


BJNilsen is a composer and sound artist based in Amsterdam. His work primarily focuses on the sounds of nature and how they affect humans. Recent work has explored the urban acoustic realm and industrial geography in the Arctic region of Norway and Russia. His original scores and soundtracks have been featured in theater, dance performances, and film. Celebrating 27 years as a recording artist, Massif Trophies is his first solo release for Editions Mego. In 2015, he set off on a month-long hiking trip in Gran Paradiso to explore the acoustic environments in the alpine landscape. Drawn to the monotonous and physical effort that mountains and high altitudes contribute, this became one of the main inspirations for Massif Trophies, reflecting upon the perception of the landscape during several hours of physical difficulty, let alone rapid weather changes, horizontal thunderstorms, and rock avalanches. Massif Trophies is also about the scope of details and perception of the path and the myth of the mountain as the accursed or sacred place. The five pieces contain narratives based on experiences and recordings from the trip. All source material recorded in Gran Paradiso, July 2015; Engineered at Odd Phasing and Echoes, Amsterdam NL; Photography by BJNilsen. Includes download card.

Cat. number: emego 233
Year: 2017

Related products

LP | €21.90
Untitled #164
CD | €13.50
Radio Vietnam
CD | €16.90
Desert Tracks
LP | €15.50
Coquina Dose (LP)
LP | €19.90
Mulago Sound Studio
LP | €19.90
And Who Sees the Mystery
LP | €21.90
Aral Sea Stories (LP)
LP | €18.00
Noa Noa Noa (LP)
LP | €18.90
Saturday’s Notes (Lp)
LP | €16.90
Eins +
CD | €15.50
Anthropological Constants
LP | €19.90
Mornes diablotins
CD | €15.50
Black Nature
TAPE | €7.00
The Hebrides suite
CD | €15.50

More from Editions Mego

LP | €18.90
Myth of Equilibrium (LP)
LP | €18.90
Upside Down Smile (LP)
LP | €18.90
Solemnities (LP)
LP | €18.90
Ferrum (2LP)
LP x 2 | €25.00
Dome 4 (LP)
LP | €17.90
Raupenbahn (LP)
LP | €17.90
Heaven (LP)
LP | €17.90
Inspection II
CD | €18.50
Dome 3 (LP)
LP | €17.90
Dome 2 (LP)
LP | €17.90
The Wires Cracked
LP | €7.75
Hostile Environment
| €20.00
Endless Summer (2Lp)
2Lp | €22.00
Throne (Lp)
LP | €16.90
Takt Der Arbeit (Lp)
LP | €15.90
On A Fateful Morning (Lp)
LP | €15.90