This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website.Learn more


Various Artists

Musical Offering (Lp)

Label: Modern Silence

Format: LP

Genre: Library/Soundtracks

In stock


Much-needed reissue of a Melodiya Lp appeared in 1990 - although the recordings date from the 1960s and 1970s - featuring electronic works perfomed at the (legendary) ANS syntheiszer by: Oleg Buloshkin, Sofia Gubaidulina, Eduard Artemiev, Edison Denisov and Alfred Schnittke."Please, try to imagine a score sounding by itself without a conductor, orchestra even without musical instuments. This magic is possible by using musical synthesizer “ANS”. “ANS” is an instrument with which a composer can not only create but even draw his music without notes and orchestra. A Soviet scientist Evgeni Murzin spent about 20 years to create this apparatus which can join together three processes: music creation, recording and performing. All these processes are rather complicated. You can see twinkling of different lamps, rotation of gured discs made of glass. Notes are cut on a glass disc covered with a special layer. The drawings on the glass are “sounding notes”. To listen to the drawn picture you should press the button and a wonderful transformation will begin. E. Murzin dedicated his apparatus to A. N. Scriabin, that’s why he called it ANS. A. N. Scriabin the creator of the “Poem of Ecstasy” used in his works a highly chromatic new type of harmonic style designed to express his beliefs, views and wishes. Soviet music lovers know already some recordings made on “ANS” for films “Into Space”, “Solaris”, “Mirror”, “Siberiade” and some others. Works of well known Soviet composers E. Artemiev, O. Buloshkin, E. Denisov, S. Gubaidulina, A. Schnittke featured on this LP were recorded at the Electronic Music Studio (...) From original Liner notes

Cat. number: OI016
Year: 2016

Related products

Miscellanea (LP)
LP | €24.90
Everyday Madness (LP)
LP | €21.90
Freedom Power (LP)
LP | €26.90
Pitturamusica (LP, coloured vinyl)
LP, coloured vinyl | €26.90
Paranoia (7")
7" | €16.50
Espressioni (LP)
LP | €24.90
A Doppia Faccia (LP)
LP | €25.90
America Giovane (LP)
LP | €21.90
Sud e Magia (LP)
LP | €22.90
Quetzalcoatl (LP)
LP | €21.90

More by Various Artists

Raks Raks Raks (LP)
LP | €19.90
CD | €14.00
Ethnoelectronics (2LP)
LPx2 | €28.00
Cold Blue Two
CD | €12.50
Love And Peace (2LP)
2LP | €32.00
Noises (Lp)
LP | €23.90

More from Modern Silence

Sounds Of New Music
LP | €19.90
Metamorphoses (Lp)
LP | €19.90
LP | €19.90