This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website.Learn more


Nate Young

Stay Asleep (Regression Vol. 2)

Label: NNA Tapes

Format: Vinyl LP

Genre: Electronic

Out of stock

We've just not been able to stop listening to this amazing album from Wolf Eyes' Nate Young - an immense collection of dark, atmospheric synth constructions that sound like an unholy mix of Demdike Stare, Fabio Frizzi, Wolf Eyes and Photek's seminal "Ni - Ten - Ichi - Ryu" stripped of its beats* Nate Young's 'Regression' was a marked departure for the Wolf Eyes man - not just from the teeth-chattering noise his disciples are so familiar with, but also from his previous solo efforts. The horror-movie influenced synth and tape manipulations displayed a development of sound that bypassed the white noise he might have been associated with, but in volume rather than mood - and 'Stay Asleep' sees a similar shift. At no point does the record reach cacophonous volumes, but the effect is as moody and unsettling a record as you're likely to hear all year. Not the sort of thing you'd expect on NNA I hear you say? Well think again - these are deftly modern synthesizer constructions, and while harrowingly dark (think Friday 13th / Fabio Frizzi axis) retain an air of the new that smashes the retro/nostalgia jams of Umberto or Xander Harris to tiny pieces. Young is a tried and tested expert in music that seeps from the gutters of US subculture, and 'Stay Asleep' is his most assured statement to date with its slippery synthesized leads and heaving basslines. In another life this might be placed alongside the academic electronic works Delia Derbyshire, but Young operates in a parallel universe far removed from our own, away from the trappings of taste or trend. All that's left to do is sit back and absorb these alien transmissions, and marvel at the strength of character and originality once again displayed by this ever intriguing artist. (boomkat)

Cat. number: NNA039
Year: 2011

Mastered at Dubplates by Lupo.

Related products

What Is Not True (2LP)
LPx2 | €27.90
Meith (LP)
LP | €21.90
Further Collusion (2LP)
LPx2 | €27.90
Shutting Down Here (LP)
LP | €19.90
Komachi (LP, coloured)
LP | €23.90
The Vanity Box Vol.1 (5CD Box)
5CD Box | €69.90
Vanity Records CD Box-sets bundle (27 CD)
4 x Box Set, 27CD in Bundle | €290.00
MMXX-07 (Etched Crystal Clear LP)
Etched Crystal Clear LP | €25.00
Sentimientos (LP)
LP | €26.90
500-Push-Up (LP)
LP | €15.90
Myscitismes (LP)
LP | €19.90
Collusion (2LP)
LPx2 | €27.90
Just an Illusion (2LP)
LPx2 | €27.90

More by Nate Young

More from NNA Tapes

On Amorphous Dawn ‎(Tape)
tape | €6.00
Resonant Field (LP)
LP | €23.90
All Moments
Vinyl LP | €8.90
Two shadows
LP | €17.90
Gay Disco
| €18.90
Wooden Ball
Vinyl LP | €16.90
All Moments
Vinyl LP | €16.50
I Don't Want To Die
Vinyl LP | €15.90
Daydream Repeater
Vinyl LP | €16.99
Magnified Palette
Vinyl LP | €15.00
Kill And Release
Vinyl 7” | €7.00
High End
LP | €17.90
Identity Picks
Vinyl LP | €16.90
Vinyl 7” | €7.00