We use cookies on our website to provide you with the best experience. Most of these are essential and already present.
We do require your explicit consent to save your cart and browsing history between visits. Read about cookies we use here.
Your cart and preferences will not be saved if you leave the site.


Out of stock


The Dew Line

Label: MIE Music

Format: Vinyl LPx2

Genre: Experimental

Out of stock

Deluxe gatefold sleeve reissue of this all-time classic of deformed rock song and avant guitar downs from Michael Morley of The Dead C: originally issued in 1994 by Table Of The Elements/Precious Metal, this new edition re-masters the original while adding five bonus tracks from the same time period and re-jigging the running order for maximal wipe-out.. Michael Morley has trawled through his extensive collection of unreleased tracks from the original recording period to integrate a further five into the album which has then been resequenced the record to accommodate these new offerings.

In a career spanning an impressive four decades as the revered guitarist and vocalist in The Dead C and the man behind Gate, on which he worked at times with Sonic Youth’s Lee Ranaldo, Michael Morley has clearly stamped a huge influence on a generation of artists ranging from the classic lo-fi of Sebadoh and Pavement, the psych-rock of Bardo Pond through to the after-noise of Pete Swanson. Despite being a highly influential figure, Michael still remains extremely hard to categorise outside his standing as a pioneering cult individualist of new musical trajectories alongside the likes of Keiji Haino, Jandek and Loren Connors.

"One can only applaud MIE Music for resurrecting this absolute treasure, and continue to absorb the brilliance of Gate’s incendiary, unfathomable and timeless molestation of rock’s archetypes." -The Liminal

"As a guitarist, Michael Morley undertakes a leap of faith similar to that of rugged individualists Keiji Haino and Borbetomagus' Donald Miller, restoring devotion to his archaic instrument's electric threat through the organic mutilation of volume and lethal distortion. A low-tech delay-pedalas-phantom-turbine is his most ubiquitous processor; an analogue synth vibrates oblique planes of sound; songs become dust, dispersed by the mercurial rhythms of undulating mirages." —The Wire

"Napalms the entire history of rock." —Blow-Up

Cat. number: MIE 010
Year: 2012

LTD 500

More by Gate

Winter Songs (LP)
LP | €18.90
Vinyl LP | €14.50
Damned Revolutions
Vinyl LP | €15.50
A Republic Of Sadness
Vinyl LP | €15.50