We use cookies on our website to provide you with the best experience. Most of these are essential and already present.
We do require your explicit consent to save your cart and browsing history between visits. Read about cookies we use here.
Your cart and preferences will not be saved if you leave the site.


Out of stock

Control Unit

The Fugitives (LP)

Label: Backwards

Format: Vinyl LP

Genre: Experimental

Out of stock

**Limited edition of 300 housed in handmade silkscreened sleeve. Tipped for fans of Atelecine, Carter Tutti Void, Factory Floor** Ninni Morgia and Silvia Kastel make their first appearance as Control Unit on Italy's freshly minted Backwards label. Guitarist Ninni Morgia is a respected member of the New York underground scene, known for his work with La Otracina for Holy Mountain and Ultramarine Records. His co-conspirator Silvia Kastel was a willing participant in his Ninni Morgia Control Unit, and together they've also collaborated with eminent avant-garde duo Kommissar Hjuler und Mama Baer. On 'The Fugitives' they drag us on a downward spiral of tranquilized, corrupted and multitracked guitar and minimal synth noise layered with vocals ranging from suggestive growls to etheric ventilations and unconscious poetics. We're distinctly reminded of Sasha Grey's Atelecine or Nik Void's Factory Floor appearances on the murky episode 'Again', while 'Live In Your Mind' is a possible descendant of 'Hamburger Lady'. However they're most interesting when enmeshed in the druggily smudged lattice of overgrown FX on 'Don't Go Out', while the visceral, viscous textures of final track 'The Fugitives' has the feel of blasted early concrete, ideal for uncomfortable listens after over-indulgent sessions. Really strong debut - recommended.(Boomkat)
Cat. number: BW 02
Year: 2012
Limited edition of 250 copies on black vinyl and handmade silkscreened sleeve.

More by Control Unit

Bloody Language (7")
7" Green vinyl | €8.00
Elegy For Rusted Souls
LP + 7" | €18.90
Vinyl LPx2 | €14.99

More from Backwards

Bad Times
7" | €5.00
CD | €10.00
CD | €10.00
Didactic Music
CD | €12.00
Meta (Lp Color)
LP | €19.90
Fun House Mirrors (Lp)
LP | €18.90
Endless Autumn
CD | €6.90
Some Songs
LP | €13.90
Heading South
Vinyl LP | €15.50
Vinyl LP | €15.90
Copal Flow
Vinyl LP | €15.50
Vinyl LP | €14.99
Meta (Lp)
LP | €17.90