We use cookies on our website to provide you with the best experience. Most of these are essential and already present.
We do require your explicit consent to save your cart and browsing history between visits. Read about cookies we use here.
Your cart and preferences will not be saved if you leave the site.


Out of stock

Samara Lubelski

Future Slip

Label: Ecstatic Peace!

Format: Vinyl LP

Out of stock

For her fifth solo album, Samara Lubelski finds a new home on Ecstatic Peace, with label boss Thurston Moore taking on a role as producer, even roping in his band's drummer (the estimable Steve Shelley). Moore recruited Lubelski for violin duties on his own solo LP, 2007's Trees Outside The Academy, and set about coaxing her into recording a different type of record from her established Social Registry output. Future Slip certainly diverges from the more baroque folk tendencies of her recent works, instead favouring a more direct, electric guitar-driven sound that's assisted by cohorts like PG Six, Helen Rush and Willie Lane in addition to the two Sonic Youth moonlighters. The album's constitution evokes a fantasy collaboration between Judee Sill and Stereolab, running through ten densely constructed tracks in a briskly efficient twenty-eight and a half minutes. Lubelski's songwriting is distinctive for its complexity and structural ambition, but somehow there's an added krautrock-ish muscle behind pieces like 'Empire's Dream'. The final phase of the album proves especially good: 'New Age Slip' sets great skittering drums against clarion fuzz guitar melodies while 'Silver Hair' strips the percussion to reveal a beautiful arrangement for tentative guitar swells and floating bass figures.

Cat. number: e#110lp
Year: 2010