We use cookies on our website to provide you with the best experience. Most of these are essential and already present.
We do require your explicit consent to save your cart and browsing history between visits. Read about cookies we use here.
Your cart and preferences will not be saved if you leave the site.
Out of stock

Mats Gustafsson

Hidros 9 - Mirrors

Label: Trost Records

Format: CD

Genre: Jazz

Out of stock

Conducted by Mats Gustafsson for two 9 piece chamber ensembles, 4 soloists, tape machine, turntable. Recorded at the Avant Art festival, Warsaw, Poland, 2022. The monumental composition for 27 musicians by Swedish saxophonist, improviser and composer Mats Gustafsson is an in-depth exploration and continuation of the previous piece Hidros o.T. (2019), commissioned by NyMusikk Trondheim, inspired by the mirrored forms and visual structures of artist Mathias Pöschl. Controlling 3 different groups of instruments (two 9-member “mirror” ensembles: Polish and Norwegian, a group of soloists and electronics), the conductor will use 3 types of graphics and different conducting methods. The composition will be performed by the conductor in the form of Instant Conducting, where tempo, dynamics, density and other musical parameters is be controlled by predetermined rules.

Mixed by Mikael Werliin and Mats Gustafsson spring 2023 Mastered by Mikael Werliin 2023

Original art and images for Hidros 9 Mirrors by Mathias Pöschl
Graphic Score by Mats Gustafsson

Anders Nyqvist - trumpets (slide, piccolo)
Colin Stetson - amplified bass saxophone
Hedvig Mollestad - guitar
Per-Åke Holmlander - tuba
Jerome Noetinger - revox tape machines
Dieb13 - turntables
Mats Gustafsson - conductor
NyMusikk Trondheim:
Eira Bjørnstad Foss – violin, Matilda Rolfsson - bass drum, Lars Ove Fossheim – guitar, Michael F. Duch – bass, Øyvind Engen – cello,
Kyrre Laastad - drums and electronics, Nicolas Leirtrø – bass, Daniel Formo - organ, prepared piano, Ida Løvli Hidle – accordion
Avant Art Ensemble:
Teoniki Rożynek – violin, Dominika Korzeniecka - bass drum, Szymon Wójcik - guitar, electronics, Rafał Różalski – bass, Magdalena
Bojanowicz – cello, Qba Janicki – drums, electronics, Paweł Romańczuk – bass, Barbara Drazkov - organ, prepared piano, Zbigniew
Chojnacki – accordion

Cat. number: TR242
Year: 2023