We use cookies on our website to provide you with the best experience. Most of these are essential and already present.
We do require your explicit consent to save your cart and browsing history between visits. Read about cookies we use here.
Your cart and preferences will not be saved if you leave the site.
File under: Electroacoustic

Joris De Laet


Label: Metaphon

Format: 3xLP Box Deluxe

Genre: Electronic

In stock


LP’s are slightly warped (entire pressing) but does not affect playback. Deluxe 3LPs in hardboard, linen-bound box with 22-page book and large poster with score.  'SEM' documents the difficult, challenging and deeply personal early works of autodidactic electroacoustic music composer Joris De Laet (Belgium, 1947) created at his Studio for Electronic Music and IPEM between 1972-1979. All material has been mastered from the original tapes and is previously unreleased. Guided by a radical sense of adventure and hard to pin down, these ten pieces are possibly best defined in terms of their contrasts - academic vs intuitive, modern composition vs free improvisation, acoustic vs electronic, sound vs noise - and the ensemble of contributing instrumentalists such as Karel Goeyvaerts (electronics), Pieter Kuyl (chapmanstick), Leo Verheyen (trombone), Paul Adriaenssens (flute and amplified objects), Maurice Verstuyft (flute). They range from from 10 - 27 minutes in length, covering atonal, free cacophony comparable with the work of Gottfried Michael Koenig, thru to slow, shimmering drones, plangent electro-acoustic space shaping, and beguiling vocal cut-ups comparable with Michel Chion or Léo Kupper, and much, much more in between, like the queered, otherworldly discord of 'Veranderlijk tot Mooi' or the pulsing, 21-minute proto-techno-scape, 'Scheldedichters met Natte Voeten' - possibly one of the purest, visionary techno precedents we've ever heard. Fans of otherworldly early European electronics will be in their element here.

File under: Electroacoustic
Cat. number: Metaphon 005
Year: 2014

3 LPs in a hardboard linen box with 22-page booklet and large poster with score.
Limited edition of 300 copies.

More by Joris De Laet