This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website.Learn more


Best of 2020
Experimental & Parametric Music - excerpt 1
Experimental & Parametric Music - excerpt 2
Experimental & Parametric Music - excerpt 3
Experimental & Parametric Music - excerpt 4
Experimental & Parametric Music - excerpt 5
Experimental & Parametric Music - excerpt 6
Experimental & Parametric Music - excerpt 7
Best of 2020

Joris De Laet

Experimental & Parametric Music 1976-2017 (2LP)

Label: Sub Rosa

Format: LPx2

Genre: Electronic

In stock


Through 'Experimental & Parametric Music 1976-2017', more than 40 years of the Joris De Laet's work are unveiled. We discover here for the first time the great coherence of this work: from 'Signalisations' (1976) to 'Mnemosyne pour une acousmaman' (2017). The twelve compositions are annotated and explained in detail by the composer, as well as a kind of wild autobiography.

Inspired by the deep control on electronic sonics, he has been defining his work since 1979 as 'Parametric Music,' music where composition is based on transformation flows of one or several parameters, selected by the composer, that form, through their converging (or diverging) processes the main characteristics of the regulated sonics of the composition.

He was born in 1947, Belgian by birth, self-taught by definition, parametric music and art video composer by choice. Founder of the S.E.M. (Studio voor Experimentele Muziek) in Antwerp, 1973. Internships at the IPEM (Instituut voor Psychoakoestiek en Elektronische Muziek) in Ghent, 1972-1975, under Karel Goeyvaerts, Lucien Goethals, and Dr. Herman Sabbe. De Laet is the founder of the SEMensemble, a group of musicians-composers specialized in performing experimental music and live electronics. From 1975 until 1990, he gave concerts with this ensemble throughout Europe (Germany, France, The Netherlands, Austria, Poland, Croatia, etc.) and in Canada (Montreal, Kingston, Toronto).

Cat. number: SRV469
Year: 2020

Related products

Footfalls (LP)
LP | €18.90
Goshen (7")
7" | €8.90
Symplegmata (LP)
LP | €25.90
Cairo Primo (LP)
LP | €15.90
Echos+ (Lp)
LP | €26.90
Seven of Wands (2LP)
LPx2 | €29.90
Varispeed Hydra (LP)
LP | €20.90
Violostries (LP)
LP | €17.90
Zoviet France LP bundle (17LP)
17LP Bundle | €230.00
Music On The Way (LP)
LP | €27.90
For Always (LP)
LP | €19.90

More by Joris De Laet

More from Sub Rosa

500-Push-Up (LP)
LP | €15.90
CD | €13.50
CD | €13.50
LP | €15.90
My Eight Little Planets
CD | €13.50
Nothing Is Finished
CD | €13.50
Tlamess (Sortilege)
CD | €13.50
The Tower of Mirrors (2LP)
LPx2 | €19.90
Phosphorescent Dreams
CD | €13.50
Works 1958-1979
CD | €13.50
Broken Music (LP)
LP | €16.90