The item has been added to your personal Favourites collection

the work

Slow Crimes
€ 22.90
View your shopping activity

Wishlist 0

Cart 0

the work - Slow Crimes

the work

Slow Crimes

€ 22.90

GENRE: Experimental | FORMAT: LP+7 | CATALOG N. mega026lp | YEAR. (2019)

In Stock

First vinyl reissue of 1982's Slow Crimes by The Work. Reissued on CD with bonus tracks by Megaphone in 1991, Slow Crimes is a little-known treasure of transformative magnitude. The Work were formed in 1979 by saxophonist Tim Hodgkinson (following the dissolution of Henry Cow), guitarist Bill Gilonis, bassist Mick Hobbs, and drummer Rick Wilson, although Slow Crimes showcases each member on a variety of instruments. Also featured is Catherine Jauniaux on guest vocals throughout the album. The Work's inaugural LP release, Slow Crimes is so rabidly articulate that it presides over and resides in a world very much unto itself. While falling within the loosest guidelines of "post-punk," the term is a misnomer, for the textural intricacies and distinct deliberacy throughout Slow Crimes bespeak both an utterly unique collective identity and a startling fluency with its own language. It takes the vibrant urgency of punk rock and catalyzes it into a continually fascinating mosaic. This reissue includes a bonus 7" with concurrent compilation tracks "Anxious About Meaning" and "One Swallow."


Notes   Tracklisting
There are no notes associated with this item
There are no tracklisting associated with this item