We use cookies on our website to provide you with the best experience. Most of these are essential and already present.
We do require your explicit consent to save your cart and browsing history between visits. Read about cookies we use here.
Your cart and preferences will not be saved if you leave the site.




The New Backwards (3 picture LP, It's in my blood edition with slpimat)


*2022 repress. It's in my blood edition. With slipmat. Picture LPs. Unique limited edition!!* "The New Backwards" was conceived by Peter "Sleazy" Christopherson in 2007, revisiting stray tracks which hadn't seemed to gel with the material he had chosen for the more somber "Ape of Naples" from 2005, Coil's initial posthumous release, a sort of requiem and a kiss-goodbye to his then recently deceased partner John Balance.

Significantly different to its sister release, this album collects the brilliantly chaotic and outrageously rhythmic material from the original sessions for the album that was begun as early as 1993 and had originally been conceptualised as the follow-up to "Love's Secret Domain". These songs are as diverse and wild as the places they originated from, partly infamously spawned in Sharon Tate's former home in the Hollywood Hills, the Nine Inch Nails home base in New Orleans and London's Swanyard, co-composed, remixed and restructured with the help of long-term friend Danny Hyde in Thailand, this collection has its own unique flow and an atmosphere not found on any other Coil release. Both "AYOR" and "Backwards" had by the time the album was first released already become favourites in Coil's manic live performances. Some of the other tracks had only leaked in demo versions and are here presented updated and polished as Christopherson and Hyde intended them to be heard. It is interesting to consider Balance's vocal contributions, too. Whilst on the albums Coil did release at the time this material was first put aside ("Black Light District" and "ElpH") his voice is all but absent, his vocal performances and his lyric writing here are arguably more closely indebted to the previous "Love's Secret Domain" era, especially the epic "Copacaballa" is noteworthy in that respect.
The New Backwards" effectively became the final official Coil studio release of all new material whilst Peter was still alive and is here presented for the first time fully supervised by Danny Hyde, its co-creator.
The stunning cover uses a detail from artist Ian Johnstone's "Cubic Raven" painting, licensed from the estate of IJ..

It is high time to rediscover this timeless album with the Infinite Fog release, first time available on vinyl in its full form without 3 skipped tracks! Besides that boasting nine further tracks of previously unheard material from the same sessions, rough working stages and surprising remixes which will surely delight the dedicated Coil archaeologists, as they shine yet another light on the creative process and on what could have been.

Cat. number: AKT010LP
Year: 2022

Recorded at Swanyard, London and at Nothing Studios, New Orleans, 1996.
Thanks to everyone there, especially Trent Reznor who made it all possible.
Written & Produced by Coil & Danny Hyde.
Remixed by Peter Christopherson & Danny Hyde, Bangkok 2007.
For that session Coil were: Peter Christopherson, Jhonn Balance & Drew McDowall.
Mastered by Jessica Thompson.
Front artwork by Ian Johnstone.
Artwork licensed from The Estate of Ian Johnstone.
Layout Cold Graves and Oleg Galay.

More by Coil

Love's Secret Domain (2CD)
2CD | €19.90
The New Backwards (2CD)
2CD | €22.00
Stolen & Contaminated Songs
CD | €14.50
The New Backwards (3LP)
3LP | €44.00
The New Backwards (LP, ultraclear)
LP ultraclear | €27.90
Love's Secret Domain (LP)
LP | €27.90
Time Machines
CD | €15.00
A Guide For Beginners (2CD)
2CD | €18.00
Sara Dale's Sensual Massage
CD | €16.00
Sara Dale's Sensual Massage (2LP)
2LP | €29.90
Swanyard (2CD)
2CD | €22.00
A Prison of Measured Time
CD | €15.00
City of Light (LP)
LP | €21.90
Unnatural History (LPx4 + Box Set)
LPx4 + Box Set | €110.00

More from Infinite Fog Productions

Pathways And Dawns (LP)
LP | €21.90
Khan Younis (Picture LP)
Picture LP | €27.90
Khan Younis (LP)
LP | €23.90
Raising Earthly Spirits (2LP In wooden slider)
2LP in wooden slider | €43.00
Things That Were (2CD)
2CD | €18.00
Raising Earthly Spirits (CD In wooden slider)
CD in wooden slider | €19.50
Khan Younis (LP)
LP | €27.90
Raising Earthly Spirits (2LP, coloured. In wooden slider)
2LP, coloured. in wooden slider | €55.00
Uzi (LP)
LP | €23.90
Zero Kama (3CD Box-set)
3CD | €30.00
Zero Kama (3LP Box-set)
3LP Box-set | €58.00
Ancient Leaves (LP)
LP | €21.90
23 (3LP)
LPx3 | €42.00
Swanyard (3LP)
LPx3 | €38.00